New contemporary architectures in Paris

Since late June 2015, many controversial projects have been approved either by the Council of Paris, either by the government, or by justice. Projects that – it’s the least we can say – are far from being unanimous.

On one side the Tour Triangle , promised to be, 50 years after the Montparnasse Tower, the new “most hated Parisian tower”; on the other the Samaritan, that would spoil the noble Rue de Rivoli; or the enlargement of Roland Garros, whose expansion would make disappear rare plants of the Auteuil greenhouses.

The debates between supporters of modernity and heritage protectors remained quiet since the Pyramid du Louvre and the Buren Columns, for lack of new innovative projects since decades. Anyway, the French capital has to propose a new vision of the urban landscapes, while international cities do not expect Parisian arguments to innovate.

Overview of a new contemporary architecture that settles in Paris.

Tour Triangle

From its 180 meters, the Triangle tour – built in the Parc des Expositions Porte de Versailles – will be the third highest building in Paris after the Eiffel Tower and the Montparnasse Tower. Signed by the prestigious Swiss firm Herzog and de Meuron, it will offer 1,500 m2 of shops, a sky bar and a 4-star hotel with 120 rooms.

photo tour triangle paris architecture

Delivery scheduled for 2020.

Roland Garros 

photo agrandissement rolang garros

Claimed for years by the Tennis Federation, the Roland Garros extension involves an trespassing over on the Auteuil greenhouses.

With the Paris candidacy for the 2024 Olympics, the enlargement has been finally approved, despite numerous administrative pleas.

Hermitage Plaza

After (again!) many administrative appeals, new twin towers are expected to emerge in 2020 in the business district of La Defense.

photo tour hermitage la défense

Two towers of over 300 meters high (a little smaller than the Eiffel Tower) which will include offices, a luxury hotel, shops and auditoriums.

Cité Judiciaire de Paris

photo nouveau palais de justice batignolles

The first stone of the future Cité judiciaire was laid May 6, 2015 in the heart of the Batignolles district (17th arrondissement). At a height of 160 meters, the new Palais of Justice (that will leave the Palais de la Cité) will consist of 3 floors equipped with photovoltaic panels on the facade and a system to recover rainwater.

photo palais de justice batignolles

Delivery scheduled for 2017.

La Samaritaine 

photo samaritaine paris

Closed for 10 years, the new project of the Samaritan has been approved by the State Council after an endless legal battle. In 2018, the great symbol Store of Art Nouveau and Art Deco architecture  will open its doors, and will offer in the heart of the old Paris a contemporary architecture, particularly through transparent glass and a printed cover that will be visible from the Rue de Rivoli.

photo nouvelle samaritaine

A new store divided between the Quai du Louvre and Rue de Rivoli with a 72-room palace (Le Cheval Blanc), offices and, of course, 26,400 m2 of shops.

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Une nouvelle architecture contemporaine s’installe à Paris

Depuis fin juin 2015, de nombreux projets controversés ont été validés soit par le Conseil de Paris, soit par le gouvernement, soit par la justice. Des projets qui – c’est le moins qu’on puisse dire – ne font pas l’unanimité…

D’un côté la Tour Triangle, annoncée, 50 ans après la Tour Montparnasse, comme la nouvelle « tour la plus détestée des parisiens« ; de l’autre la Samaritaine, qui viendrait enlaidir la noble rue de Rivoli; ou encore l’agrandissement de Roland Garros, dont l’expansion ferait disparaitre des plantes rares abritées par les serres d’Auteuil.

Les débats entre partisans de la modernité et protecteurs du patrimoine étaient restés silencieux depuis la Pyramide du Louvre et les Colonnes Buren, faute de nouveaux projets innovants depuis des décennies. Quoi qu’il en soit, la capitale française se doit de proposer de nouvelles visions du paysage urbain, à l’aune du Grand Paris, et alors que de grandes villes internationales n’attendent pas les disputes parisiennes pour innover.

Tour d’horizon d’une nouvelle architecture contemporaine qui s’installe à Paris.

Tour Triangle

Du haut de ses 180 mètres, la tour Triangle – qui sera édifiée dans le parc des Expositions de la porte de Versailles – sera le troisième bâtiment le plus haut de Paris, derrière la Tour Eiffel et la tour Montparnasse. Signé par le prestigieux cabinet suisse Herzog et de Meuron, il offrira 1.500 m2 de commerces, un sky bar, ainsi qu’un hôtel 4 étoiles de 120 chambres.

photo tour triangle paris architecture

Livraison prévue pour 2020.

Roland Garros 

photo agrandissement rolang garros

Réclamée depuis des années par la Fédération de tennis, l’extension de Roland Garros passe nécessairement par un empiétement sur le jardin botanique des serres d’Auteuil voisin.

Avec la candidature de Paris pour les Jeux Olympiques de 2024, le projet d’agrandissement a été définitivement validé, malgré les nombreux recours administratifs.

Le court central (court Philippe-Chatrier) sera équipé d’un toit rétractable qui pourra se déployer en 15 minutes pour permettre la poursuite du jeu en cas de pluie.

Hermitage Plaza

Après (encore une fois !) de nombreux recours administratifs, de nouvelles tours jumelles devraient voir le jour à l’horizon 2020 dans le quartier d’affaires de La Défense.

photo tour hermitage la défense

Deux tours de plus de 300 mètres de haut (un tout petit plus petites que la Tour Eiffel) qui comprendront des bureaux, un hôtel de luxe, des commerces et des salles polyvalentes d’art et de spectacles. 

Cité Judiciaire de Paris

photo nouveau palais de justice batignolles

La première pierre de la future Cité judiciaire a été posée le 6 mai 2015 au coeur du quartier des Batignolles (17e arrondissement). D’une hauteur de 160 mètres, le nouveau Palais de Justice (qui quittera le Palais de la Cité) sera composé de 3 étages équipés de panneaux photovoltaïques sur la façade et d’un système permettant de récupérer l’eau de pluie. 

photo palais de justice batignolles

Livraison prévue pour 2017. 

La Samaritaine 

photo samaritaine paris

Fermée depuis 10 ans, le nouveau projet de la Samaritaine vient d’être approuvé par le Conseil d’État après une bataille juridique sans fin. En 2018, ce grand magasin symbole de l’architecture Art Nouveau et Art Déco ouvrira à nouveau ses portes, et proposera au coeur du vieux Paris une architecture contemporaine, notamment via un couvercle de verre sérigraphié et transparent qui sera visible du côté de la rue de Rivoli.

photo nouvelle samaritaine

Plusieurs activités seront regroupées dans les nouveaux bâtiments,  répartis entre le quai du Louvre et la rue de Rivoli : un palace de 72 chambres (le Cheval Blanc), 96 logements sociaux, une crèche, des bureaux, et, bien évidemment, 26.400 m2 de commerces.

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.