The Picpus cemetery, one of the most secret in Paris

At 35, rue de Picpus (12th arrondissement), hidden behind a simple wall is one of the most secret cemeteries of Paris. A cemetery that welcomes many fewer visitors than the Pere Lachaise cemetery or the Montmartre, which nevertheless has a great history, closely linked to the French revolution.

In 1794, when the terror reached its peak, the guillotine installed Place de la Concorde and Place de la Bastille, moved June 14 instead of the throne-Reverse, now called Place de la Nation. This fully operational until July 27, decapitating average … 55 people per day.

To bury the bodies pile up, an area located in the nearby village of Findus is purchased, converted into common grave for the 1306 people guillotined during this month macabre …

In 1796, the German princess Amelie de Salm-Kyrbourg, whose brother and German were guillotined instead throne-Reverse, bought the land and a society of families of beheaded was based from 1800 to perpetuate the memory the missing. The Picpus cemetery was born.

Cemetery known primarily to house the tomb of the Marquis de Lafayette, whose wife, Adrienne de Noailles, was a founder of the company that created the cemetery. A necropolis is now one of the few cemeteries of Paris (paid, see relevant information), a place of revolutionary memory hidden garden of Paris!

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

cimetiere picpus

Le cimetière de Picpus, l’une des nécropoles les plus secrètes de Paris

Au 35 de la rue de Picpus (12e arrondissement), caché derrière un simple mur, se trouve l’une des nécropoles les plus secrètes de Paris. Un cimetière qui accueille bien moins de visiteurs que le Père-Lachaise ou le cimetière Montmartre, qui possède pourtant une grande histoire, étroitement liée à la révolution française. 

En 1794, alors que la Terreur atteint son point culminant, la guillotine, installée place de la Concorde puis place de la Bastille, déménage le 14 juin place du Trône-Renversé, aujourd’hui nommée Place de la Nation. Celle-ci fonctionnera à plein régime jusqu’au 27 juillet, décapitant en moyenne… 55 personnes par jour.

Place du Trône-Renversé

Place du Trône-Renversé

Pour inhumer les corps qui s’entassent, un domaine situé dans le proche village de Picpus est acheté, transformé en fosse commune pour les 1306 personnes guillotinées pendant ce mois macabre… 

En 1796, la princesse allemande Amélie de Salm-Kyrbourg, dont le frère et l’amant furent guillotinés place du Trône-Renversé, rachète le terrain, puis une société composée de familles des décapités se fonde à partir de 1800, afin de perpétuer la mémoire des disparus. Le cimetière de Picpus est né

cimetiere picpus la Fayette

Un cimetière connu avant tout pour abriter la tombe du marquis de la Fayette, dont la femme, Adrienne de Noailles,  fut l’une des fondatrices de la société qui créa le cimetière. Une nécropole qui est aujourd’hui l’un des derniers cimetières privés de Paris, véritable lieu de mémoire révolutionnaire et jardin caché de Paris !

Voir aussi : la Révolution française et la Révolution métrique

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.