The rough history of Notre-Dame bridge

If today the oldest bridge in Paris is – as its name does not indicate – the Pont Neuf (New Bridge), the Pont Notre-Dame is located on one of the oldest roads in the Paris, dating back to the Gallo-Roman period.

It then knew many transformations to become the current bridge, which has been built during the Haussmann period. A Bridge that experienced a very turbulent history!

2014

First and second pont Notre-Dame

 

Notre Dame Bridge may have been one of the first all bridges in the capital, the one we can see today is nothing like the first one, built by the Romans on the Cardo Maximus, a major axis crossing the city from north to south.

Built on stilts, the first Notre Dame bridge was destroyed after the invasion of Normans in the 9th century, replaced by a wooden bridge that was in its turn destroyed during the great flood of 1406.

The third pont Notre-Dame

 

In 1413, King Charles VI laid the first stone of a new bridge Notre Dame, entirely made of wood, and that will support more than 60 houses, mills, and beautiful shops that will make the bridge one of the most elegant places in Paris. Unfortunately, it collapsed again during a flood on October 25th, 1499.

The fourth pont Notre-Dame

 

Not reluctant to fatality, Parisian decided to rebuild the bridge … But this time with stone! Inaugurated in 1507, it hosted 60 six floors houses with numbers : it was the first houses numbering in Paris.

 

inauguration

Vue et perspective du Pont Notre-Dame – Gérard Leyris / Musée Carnavalet

Then, the Pont Notre-Dame not yielded but was restored in 1659 to celebrate the arrival of Marie Thérèse d’Autriche, future Queen of France and king Louis XIV’s wife. At that time, the bridge was almost exclusively composed of art galeries, and found its former times prestige.

1600

The demolition of houses will be ordered in 1786 as seen in this painting made by Hubert Robert, representing the second row of houses being demolished. In the background is the Pont au Change, whose homes will be destroyed a few years later.

Destruction des maisons pont notre dame

The fifth pont Notre-Dame

 

During Haussmannian works, the Bridge will be once again rebuilt in 1853 and refurbished – again! – in 1919, with only one 60m long metal arch to facilitate passage of vessels and the flow of the river.

The small part of the Island bridge located next to the City is a remnant of the 1853 bridge.

For nearly a century, the Pont Notre-Dame has not undergone new transformations. How much longer ?

guided tours unjourdeplusaparis

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

More than traditional guided tours, Our walking tours will make you discover both the past and the present of Paris ...
Read More

2014

Le Pont Notre-Dame, une histoire très mouvementée !

Si aujourd’hui le plus vieux pont de Paris est – comme son nom ne l’indique pas – le Pont Neuf, le Pont Notre-Dame est quant à lui situé sur l’une des plus anciennes voies de la capitale, dont les premières traces remontent à l’époque Gallo-Romaine.

Il subit par la suite de nombreuses transformations, jusqu’à devenir le pont actuel, que l’on doit à l’époque HaussmannienneUn Pont qui connut une histoire très mouvementée !

2014

Les premier et deuxième pont Notre-Dame

 

Le Pont Notre-Dame (à ne pas confondre avec le Pont d’Arcole, qui mène de la Place de l’Hôtel de ville à Notre-Dame-de-Paris) a beau être l’un des tous premiers ponts de la capitale, celui que l’on peut voir aujourd’hui ne ressemble en rien au premier qui fut construit par les Romains sur le Cardo Maximus, grand axe qui traversait la ville du Nord au Sud.

Construit sur pilotis, le premier pont Notre-Dame fut détruit à la suite de l’invasion Normande au 9e siècle, remplacé par une passerelle en bois qui fut à son tour emportée par la grande crue de 1406.

Le troisième pont Notre-Dame

 

En 1413, le roi Charles VI posa la première pierre d’un nouveau pont Notre-Dame, entièrement en bois, et qui soutiendra plus de 60 maisons, des moulins, ainsi que de très belles boutiques qui feront du pont l’un des lieux les plus élégants de la capitale. Malheureusement, il s’effondra à nouveau lors d’une crue le 25 octobre 1499. 

 

Le quatrième pont Notre-Dame

 

Peu enclins à la fatalité, les parisiens décident de reconstruire le pont… Mais cette fois en pierre ! Inauguré en 1507, il accueille 60 habitations de six étages, lesquelles porteront des numéros pairs d’un côté et impairs de l’autre : c’est la première numérotation de maisons à Paris.

inauguration

Vue et perspective du Pont Notre-Dame – Gérard Leyris / Musée Carnavalet

Le pont Notre-Dame ne cédera plus, mais sera restauré en 1659 pour fêter l’arrivée de Marie-Thérèse d’Autriche, future Reine de France et femme de Louis XIV. À cette époque, le pont est quasi exclusivement composé de marchands d’art, et redevient comme autrefois l’un des endroits les plus chics de Paris.

1600

Vue perspective des Illuminations du pont Notre-Dame en réjouissance du rétablissement de la santé de Louis XIV, le 30 de janvier 1687.

La démolition des maisons sera ordonnée en 1786, comme on le voit sur ce tableau de Hubert Robert, représentant le second rang des maisons du Pont Notre-Dame en cours de démolition. Avec en arrière-plan le Pont-au-Change, dont les maisons seront également détruites quelques années plus tard. 

Destruction des maisons pont notre dame

Le cinquième pont Notre-Dame

 

Lors des transformations Haussmanniennes de Paris, le Pont sera une nouvelle fois reconstruit en 1853, puis réaménagé – encore ! – en 1919, avec une seule arche métallique de 60m de long pour faciliter le passage des bateaux et l’écoulement du fleuve.

La petite partie du pont située côté Île de la Cité est un reste du pont de 1853.

Depuis près d’un siècle, le Pont Notre-Dame n’a plus subi de transformations. Jusqu’à nouvel ordre…

visites guidées unjourdeplusaparis

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.