Palais Royal’s Garden

At the heart of Paris, a few steps from the Louvre Museum and hidden in the middle of government and cultural buildings (Constitutional Council, Ministry of Culture and Communication, Comédie-Française, Theatre du Palais Royal …), is the sumptuous Jardin du Palais Royal.

A haven of peace that has been for four centuries a place of power and pleasures.

palais royal jardin paris

A WIELDING POWER PLACE

Ordered by the Cardinal de Richelieu in 1633, the Palace was built close to the Louvre, at the time royal residence, to enable this influential minister to stay nearby the king.

Originally called “Palais Cardinal,” this sumptuous residence could likely arouse jealousy from the monarch. To avoid this, Richelieu bequeathed to Louis XIII the residence while living in it. The “Palais Cardinal” becomes “Palais Royal”.

Briefly occupied by the royal family, the palace came down Louis XIV’s nephew Philippe d’Orléans, and his family will keep it until 1848.

THE COVERED PASSAGES ANCESTOR

In the 1780’s, Philippe IV of Orleans (later named “Philippe Egalité” ) acquired the whole place. Extravagant and overly indebted, he decided to build shops around his gardens and rent them out. Convinced by the idea of having a theatre, the Duke thus decided to build the “Comédie française”.

If the financial transactions were not up to his expectations, nonetheless, the palace became the center of Parisian pleasures: a place to taking walks, shop, and drink, moreover protected by the weather as well as the dirtiness of the town. Certainly, it was an expensive idea, but it wasn’t foolish: indeed, the Covered Passages of Paris were born !

arcades palais royal

THE PRESENT-DAY GARDEN

During the 19th and 20th centuries moved in the institutions mentioned above, and the garden gradually hosted cafes, restaurants, antique and art shops and fashion designers.

As for the garden plan, it didn’t change a lot since the big work of 1780. Main modification will be in 1986 with the artist Daniel Buren Installation called Les Colonnes de Buren, near the Ministry of Communication.

A beautiful green area not to be missed !

 

 

Getting out, do not miss the Palais-Royal-Musée du Louvre metro entrance, one of the most beautiful in Paris.

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

More than traditional guided tours, Our walking tours will make you discover both the past and the present of Paris ...
Read More

palais royal jardin paris

Jardin du Palais Royal

Au cœur de Paris, à quelques pas de Musée du Louvre et caché au milieu de plusieurs bâtiments gouvernementaux et culturels (Conseil Constitutionnel, Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, Comédie française, Théâtre du Palais-Royal…), se trouve le somptueux Jardin du Palais-Royal.

Un havre de paix qui réunit depuis plus de 4 siècles lieux de pouvoir et de plaisirs.

UN LIEU DE POUVOIR

Commandé par le Cardinal de Richelieu en 1633, le Palais a été construit à quelques pas du Louvre, alors résidence royale, pour permettre à ce très influent ministre de rester proche du roi.

D’abord appelé « Palais-cardinal », cette si fastueuse résidence risquait de susciter la jalousie de la part du monarque. Pour éviter cela, Richelieu légua donc à Louis XIII sa résidence… tout en continuant à l’habiter. Le « Palais-Cardinal » devient « Palais-Royal ».

Brièvement habité par la famille royale, le Palais passera entre les mains du neveu de Louis XIV Philippe d’Orléans, que sa famille conservera jusqu’en 1848.

palais royal jardin paris

L’ANCÊTRE DES PASSAGES COUVERTS

Dans les années 1780, Philippe IV d’Orléans (appelé plus tard Philippe-Égalité) hérite de la totalité du lieu. Dépensier et très endetté, il décide de faire construire tout autour de ses jardins des commerces et de les mettre en location. Persuadé de la nécessité d’une salle de spectacle, le Duc fait également construire la Comédie-Française.

Si l’opération financière n’est pas à la hauteur de ses attentes, le palais devient néanmoins le centre des plaisirs parisiens : un lieu de promenade, de commerce, et de débauche, qui plus est protégé des intempéries et de la saleté de la ville. Une idée certes coûteuse, mais pas si bête : en effet, les passages couverts de Paris étaient nés !

arcades palais royal

LE JARDIN AUJOURD’HUI

Aux 19e et 20e siècle s’installeront les différentes institutions citées plus haut, et le jardin accueillera progressivement cafés, restaurants, antiquaires et créateurs d’art ou de mode.

Le plan du jardin n’a quant à lui que très peu bougé depuis les travaux gigantesques de 1780. La modification majeure aura lieu en 1986 et la pose des Colonnes de Buren, œuvre d’art de l’artiste Daniel Buren située dans la cour, près du ministère de la Communication.

Un magnifique espace vert à ne pas louper !

 

visites guidées unjourdeplusaparis

 

Ne pas louper devant le Palais la station de métro Palais-Royal-Musée du Louvre, l’une des plus belles bouches de métro de Paris.

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.