jardin paris 16

Japanese Garden of the Buddhist Pantheon

Behind the Guimet Museum, which holds one of the most important collection of Asian art in the world, is a pretty hidden annexe: the Buddhist Pantheon.

Besides its interesting collection of more than 200 Japanese works and the beautiful mansion that houses it, it is above all the amazing and unusual Japanese inspired garden that deserves to be visited in addition to the museum.

Also see : Unusual gardens in Paris

At the heart of the Buddhist Panthéon, Guimet Museum annexe in the 16th arrondissement of Paris, the Japanese garden is a unique green space in Paris (free access). Covering an area of ​​450 m2, it was built during the renovation in 1991.

With its giant bamboo, flagstones, small wooden bridges and pond, it is one of the most “zen” places of the capital! You will also find a lovely lodge created by Japanese artists and carpenters. It hosts the tea ceremonies of Guimet Museum, which offer an ideal time to discover the pleasures of the art of living in Japan.

After enjoying the peaceful atmosphere of the garden, do not forget to take a walk through the collections of the Buddhist Pantheon, works gathered together by Émile Guimet during his trip to Japan in 1876. Also a chance to appreciate the neoclassical architecture of the mansion, former home of Alfred Heidelbach, banker and President of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States in Paris (1852-1922).     Also see what to visit in the 16th arrondissement

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

jardin paris 16

Jardin Japonais du Panthéon Bouddhique

Derrière le Musée Guimet, qui détient l’une des plus importantes collections d’art asiatique au monde, se cache une jolie annexe méconnue : le Panthéon Bouddhique.

Outre sa collection intéressante de plus de 200 œuvres japonaise et le bel hôtel particulier qui les abrite, c’est avant tout l’étonnant et insolite jardin d’inspiration Japonaise qui mérite d’être visité en complément du musée.

Voir aussi : Jardins insolites de Paris

paris

Au cœur du Pavillon Bouddhique, annexe du musée Guimet dans le 16e arrondissement de Paris, le jardin Japonais est un espace vert unique à Paris (accès gratuit).

D’une superficie de 450 m2, il a été aménagé lors de la rénovation du bâtiment en 1991. Avec ses bambous géants, ses dalles de pierre, ses petits ponts de bois et sa pièce d’eau, c’est un des lieux les plus « zen » de la capitale !

Vous trouverez également en hauteur du jardin un pavillon réalisé par des artistes et charpentiers japonais. Il accueille les cérémonies du thé du musée Guimet, qui offrent un moment privilégié pour goûter aux plaisirs de l’art de vivre du Japon (plus d’informations sur les cérémonies ici).

Après avoir profité de l’atmosphère apaisée du jardin, n’oubliez pas de faire un tour par les collections du Panthéon Bouddhique, œuvres réunies par Émile Guimet au cours de son voyage au Japon en 1876. L’occasion également d’apprécier l’architecture néoclassique de l’Hôtel particulier, ancienne demeure d’Alfred Heidelbach, banquier et président de la Chambre de Commerce des Etats-Unis à Paris (1852-1922).

Voir aussi toutes les idées de visite dans le 16e arrondissement de Paris.

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.