Museum of eroticism

Museum of Eroticism is located in the district of Pigalle. An obvious location in the heart of what was once the heart of the debauchery and prostitution in Paris in the 19th century, nowadays an original mix between tourist hotspot and neighborhood filled with cabarets, bars today, sex shops and clubs of all kinds.

A fun and informative museum, which nevertheless broaches subjects still taboo: erotic art in the history of civilizations and the role of sexuality in our society.

On 7 floors, you will discover many artistic expressions of eroticism. Sculptures, paintings, furniture, photographs and videos, the diversity of media displayed reflects the importance of sexuality across cultures and the evolution of its representation.

Eroticism museum collections

You will see in the first rooms of the Museum of Eroticism a collection of sacred items from prehistory to present day from the 5 continents. Objects mainly collected from South America, Africa and India , civilizations for which representation of sexuality was anything but taboo!

Strolling through the rooms, you’ll then discover sexuality in popular art in more recent times, which some objects will free of guilt wildest fantasies of visitors… Another floor is dedicated to brothels (banned in France in 1946 ) and prostitution. An interesting room that has the merit of broaching a subject rarely exhibited.

Finally, the upper floors present temporary exhibitions of contemporary artists and private collections .

A museum that is more a Cabinet of curiosities than a real museum, but original if you want to discover unusual exhibitions in Paris.

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Musée de l’érotisme

Le Musée de l’érotisme est situé dans le quartier de Pigalle. Un emplacement évident au cœur de ce qui fut le coeur de la débauche et de la prostitution à Paris au 19e siècle, devenu aujourd’hui un mélange original entre haut lieu touristique et incontournable des fêtes nocturnes rempli de cabarets, bars, sex-shops et clubs en tout genre.

Un musée plus amusant qu’informatif, qui permet néanmoins d’aborder des thèmes encore tabous : l’art érotique dans l’histoire des civilisations et la place de la sexualité dans notre société.

Sur 7 étages, vous découvrirez de multiples expressions artistiques de l’érotisme. Sculptures, tableaux, mobilier, photographies et vidéos, la diversité des supports exposés reflète l’importance de la sexualité à travers les civilisations, et l’évolution de sa représentation.

La collection du Musée de l’érotisme

Vous verrez dans les premières salles du Musée de l’érotisme une collection d’objets sacrés de la préhistoire à nos jours venus des 5 continents. Des objets essentiellement récupérés d’Amérique du Sud, d’Afrique et d’Inde,  civilisations pour lesquelles la représentation de la sexualité était tout sauf tabou !

 

En déambulant dans les salles, vous découvrirez ensuite la sexualité dans l’art populaire à une époque plus récente, dont certaines pièces déculpabiliseront plus d’un visiteur sur leurs fantasmes les plus fous…  Un autre étage, assez riche, est consacré aux maisons closes (interdites en France en 1946) et à la prostitution. Une salle intéressante qui a le mérite d’aborder, photos et commentaires à l’appui, un pan de notre histoire contemporaine si peu exposé.

Enfin, les derniers étages présentent des expositions temporaires d’artistes contemporains ou de collections privées.

Un musée qui s’apparente plus à un cabinet de curiosités, mais original si vous souhaitez découvrir des expositions insolites à Paris. En choisissant bien vos accompagnateurs….

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.