Galerie-terrasse rue de Rivoli

Protestant Temple de l’Oratoire du Louvre

A few steps from the Louvre, the Oratoire du Louvre is a Protestant church since 1811. It was before that the royal chapel of the kings of France . A church full of history and symbols you can discover during every Sunday morning worship at 10:30.

Although originally Catholic, the Church church history is closely related to Protestantism. More than 10 years after the Edict of Nantes in 1598 , which recognized a freedom of worship to Protestants, a new Catholic congregation will know a huge success (congregation of the Oratory) , and will built a church at the location of the old walls of Philippe Auguste.

This is so to counter the influence of protestantism that the present church had been erected.

History and origins of l’Oratoire du Louvre

In 1616 , Father Pierre Bérulle bought a townhouse at the level of the current rue de l’Oratoire and built a chapel. The congregation attracting more and more faithful, the chapel became too small and the extension of the church was entrusted to Jacques Lemercier, architect of the king and creator, among other places, of the wonderful Palais- Royal.

Louis XII made the Oratory Royal Chapel in 1623. Although the work will stop between 1625 and 1740, the church will celebrate prestigious funeral services, such as Richelieu, Louis XIII or queens Maria Theresa and Anne of Austria.

It was Napoleon who gave the church to the Protestants in 1811.

The oratoire today 

Worship is celebrated since 1811 every Sunday morning. Many constructions have been made from this date according to the Protestant worship .

Among the most important changes are the Higher Rooms, the tribunes and the entrance tambour built between 1820 and 1828, the Gallery-terrace built by the architect Baltard (who was Protestant ) during the construction of the rue de Rivoli in 1854 , and the monument in memory of Admiral Coligny inaugurated in 1889.

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Galerie-terrasse rue de Rivoli

L’Oratoire du Louvre

A quelques pas du Louvre, l’Oratoire du Louvre est depuis 1811 une église protestante. Elle fut avant cela chapelle royale des rois de France. Une église pleine d’histoire et de symbole, que vous pouvez découvrir lors des cultes ouverts à tous les dimanche matins à 10h30.

Bien que Catholique à l’origine, l’Église de l’Oratoire a une histoire étroitement liée au protestantisme. Environ 10 ans après l’Édit de Nantes, qui reconnut en 1598 une certaine liberté de culte aux protestants, une nouvelle congrégation catholique connut un large succès : la Congrégation de l’Oratoire. C’est donc en réaction à la réforme protestante, et pour contrer sa grandissante influence, que l’église actuelle s’est érigée.

Histoire et origine de l’Oratoire du Louvre

En 1616, le Père Pierre de Bérulle acheta un hôtel Particulier au niveau de la rue de l’Oratoire actuelle et y fit construire une chapelle.  Sa congrégation attirant de plus en plus de fidèles, la chapelle devint trop petite, et l’extension de l’église fut confiée à Jacques Lemercier, architecte du roi et auteur du somptueux Palais-Royal.

Louis XII fit de l’Oratoire la chapelle Royale en 1623. Bien que les travaux de l’église s’arrêtèrent entre 1625 et 1740, l’église célebra pendant cette période de prestigieux services funèbres, dont celui de Richelieu et de Louis XIII, ou des reines Marie-Thérèse et Anne d’Autriche.

C’est Napoléon qui mit l’église à la disposition des protestants en 1811.

L’Oratoire du Louvre aujourd’hui

Le culte y est célébré depuis tous les dimanches. De nombreux aménagements ont été entrepris à partir de cette date pour adapter l’Oratoire au culte protestant.

Parmi les plus importantes transformations figurent la Salle Haute, les tribunes et le tambour d’entrée construits entre 1820 et 1828, la Galerie-terrasse construite par Baltard (qui était protestant) lors du percement de la rue de Rivoli en 1854, et le monument à la mémoire de l’Amiral Coligny inauguré en 1889. 

 

À quelques pas de l’Oratoire, découvrez également la superbe Colonnade du Louvre, ou l’étonnante histoire de l’église Saint-Germain-l’Auxerrois

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.