Where to see contemporary Art in Paris

International capital of culture, Paris has been opened for decades to contemporary art, thanks to major sites like the Centre Pompidou.

Lately, intimate museums have given artists the opportunity to exhibit in Paris, and to be known by general audience. Overview of Paris museums and cultural place where to see contemporary art.

Beaubourg – Centre Pompidou

photo musee beaubourg paris

First European collection of modern and contemporary art, Beaubourg is an inevitable museum, both for its permanent collection than it temporary exhibitions. Tracing the whole creation during the 20th century, it is also a multidisciplinary place with performances and movies, with exhibitions dedicated to all kind of arts.

Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris

photo musee art contemporain ville de paris

Located in a wing of the Palais de Tokyo, the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris offers a wide panorama of creation of the past 50 years, and houses some of the most important artists of contemporary art such as Fernand Léger , Buffet, Dufy or Soulages. A free museum.

Le Palais de Tokyo

Largest contemporary art center without permanent collection in Europe, the Palais de Tokyo offers throughout the year modern and contemporary art exhibitions that highlight “non-traditional” artists. An area of artistic creativity of over 22,000 m2 totally renovated in 2012.

Fondation Louis Vuitton

paris

Dedicated to contemporary creation, the Foundation Louis Vuitton opened its doors in the heart of the Bois de Boulogne (16th arrondissement) in 2014. In a beautiful architecture made by Frank Gehry, the foundation’s aim, through the sponsorship of the LVMH group, is to promote French and international contemporary creations with the exhibition of works acquired by the group since 2006, and temporary exhibitions throughout the year.

Musée Zadkine

The wonderful Zadkine Museum-Workshop, just few steps from the Luxembourg Gardens, regularly offers temporary exhibitions of of contemporary art living artists .

Collège des Bernardins

collège des cisterciens, Paris

At the heart of the Latin Quarter, this former Cistercian college built in the 13th century regularly give its spaces to contemporary artists, often in open access. A place of reflection that also organizes many conferences and debates throughout the year.

La Conciergerie

photo art contemporain coniergerie paris

Symbol of Royal power and French Revolution, the Conciergerie often open its older rooms (13th and 14th centuries) to temporary exhibitions of contemporary art.

MAC/VAL (Vitry-sur-Seine, Val-de-Marne)

Outside Paris, the MAC / VAL has become in recent years a major contemporary art institution with a beautiful collection structured around the geometric abstraction, narrative figuration and realism of French and international artists.

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

photo art contemporain paris

Où voir de l’art contemporain à Paris

Capitale internationale de la culture, Paris s’est ouvert depuis plusieurs dizaines d’années à l’art contemporain,  grâce notamment à des sites majeurs comme le Centre Pompidou.

Ces derniers temps, des musées plus intimistes – mais tout aussi riches – donnent à des artistes l’occasion de s’exposer à Paris, et de se faire connaitre du grand public. Tour d’horizon des lieux culturels et musées où voir de l’art contemporain à Paris.

Beaubourg – Centre Pompidou

photo musee beaubourg paris

Première collection européenne d’art moderne et contemporain, Beaubourg est un musée inévitable, aussi bien pour ses collections permanentes que pour ses expositions temporaires. Retraçant toute la création du 20e siècle, c’est également un lieu pluridisciplinaire avec des salles de spectacle et de cinéma, et des exposition consacrées à toutes les formes d’art.

Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris

photo musee art contemporain ville de paris

Situé dans une aile du Palais de Tokyo, le Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris offre un large panorama de la création durant les 50 dernières années, et abrite quelques artistes parmi les plus importants de l’art contemporain comme Fernand Léger, Buffet, Dufy ou Soulages. Un musée qui plus est gratuit… 

Le Palais de Tokyo

Plus grand centre d’art contemporain sans collection permanente d’Europe, le Palais de Tokyo propose tout au long de l’année des expositions d’art moderne et contemporain qui mettent en avant des artistes « non traditionnels ». Un espace de créativité artistique sur plus de 22.000 m2 entièrement rénové en 2012.

Fondation Louis Vuitton

paris

Dédiée à la création contemporaine, la Fondation Louis Vuitton a ouvert ses portes au coeur du Bois de Boulogne (16e arrondissement) en 2014. Au sein d’une superbe architecture réalisée par Frank Gehry, la fondation, via le mécénat du groupe LVMH, a pour objectif la promotion de la création contemporaine française et internationale avec l’exposition des oeuvres acquises par le groupe depuis 2006, et l’organisation d’expositions temporaires tout au long de l’année.

Musée Zadkine

Le superbe Musée-Atelier Zadkine, à deux pas du jardin du Luxembourg, propose régulièrement des expositions temporaires d’artistes vivants d’art contemporain.

Collège des Bernardins

collège des cisterciens, Paris

Au coeur du Quartier Latin, cet ancien collège cistercien construit au 13e siècle met régulièrement ses espaces à dispositions d’artistes contemporains pour des installations, souvent en libre accès. Un lieu de réflexion qui organise également de nombreuses conférences-débats tout au long de l’année.

La Conciergerie

photo art contemporain coniergerie paris

Symbole du pouvoir Royal et de la Révolution Française, la Conciergerie ouvre à l’occasion ces plus vieilles salles (13e et 14e siècles) à des expositions temporaires d’art contemporain.

MAC/VAL (Vitry-sur-Seine, Val-de-Marne)

Hors de Paris, le MAC/VAL est devenu ces dernières années une importante institution d’art contemporain grâce à une belle collection structurée autour de l’abstraction géométrique, la figuration narrative et le nouveau réalisme d’artistes français et internationaux.

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.