Specialized and Foreign-language bookshops in Paris

 

ENGLISH SPEAKING BOOKSHOPS

 

Shakespeare & Co bookstore

The real worship founded around this beautiful English bookstore is probably due to Hemingway’s passion for this place where he used to go as often as possible (you’ll find plenty of allusion in “A moveable feast”). Situated between the Latin Quarter and Ile de la Cité, Shakespeare & Co is a lovely Parisian bookstore which smells the good paper and the language of … Shakespeare.

37 rue de la Bucherie 75005 Paris

Open monday to friday from 10 am to 11 pm, week-end from 11 am to 11 pm.

http://www.shakespeareandcompany.com/

 

Galignani

A bookshop which is described by itself as being focused “more than ever to serve demanding customers [and] the readers the most curious and the most cultivated of Paris.”

An upmarket establishment that is obviously one of the big English speaking references of Paris. Its plus: in addition to the beautiful canopy inside the store, to be “the first English bookshop, established on the continent”… 

224, rue de Rivoli Paris 1er

Open monday to saturday from 10 am to 7 pm.

http://www.galignani.com/

 

WHSmith

WHSmith is the largest English bookshop in Paris, and probably the largest selection of English books in the capital. The bookstore also distinguishes itself by selling DVDs and by a big department dedicated to press. In the cozy atmosphere of the rue de Rivoli, this bookshop, although somewhat impersonal, is a classic for all English speaking in Paris.

248 Rue de Rivoli 75001 Paris

Open monday to saturday from 9 am to 7 pm, sunday and public holiday from 12.30 pm to 7 pm.

www.whsmith.fr

 

Abbey Bookshop

Hidden few streets behind the famous Shakespeare & Co, The Abbey Bookshop (Canadian bookstore) is the kind of bookshop  fans of paper will be crazy about. The place is narrow and the shelves are full of books that also extend onto the sidewalk. In addition to English books, you can find German or Dutch literature, as well as used books.

 29, rue de la Parcheminerie

Open monday to saturday from 10 am to 7 pm.

http://abbeybookshop.wordpress.com/

 

 

GERMAN SPEAKING BOOKSHOP

Marissal Buecher

A short walk from Beaubourg, this bookshop is a Mecca for German speaking. In addition to the traditional methods of language and other literary classics, you will find enough to satisfy everyone: literature of all countries and all continents, beautiful books, calendars, specialized literature…

Open monday to saturday from 10.30 am to 7.30 pm.

42 rue Rambuteau 75003 Paris

http://www.marissal.com/

 

 

ASIAN SPEAKING BOOKSHOP

Le Phénix

Methods, dictionaries, multimedia, literature, history, philosophy … This bookstore of 200m² situated Boulevard Sebastopol since 1965 is a real cultural center of Chinese and Asiatic world as well as a multilingual reference (books in French, English and Chinese).

72 boulevard de Sébastopol 75003 PARIS

Open monday to saturday from 10 am to 7 pm

http://www.librairielephenix.fr/

 

 

PORTUGUESE SPEAKING BOOKSHOP

 

  • Librairie Portugaise et Brésilienne

Few steps from the Panthéon, you will find in the “librairie Portugaise et Brésilienne” a very rich collection of books in French and Portuguese, methods books, but also meetings and debates organized by the bookshop. A reference place for Brazilian and Portuguese culture lovers.

19/21 rue des Fossés Saint-Jacques, Place de l’Estrapade 75005 Paris

Open Monday to Saturday : 11 am – 1 pm / 2 pm – 7 pm

www.librairie-portugaise.com

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

librairie paris

Les librairies étrangères spécialisées à Paris

LIBRAIRIES ANGLOPHONES  

Shakespeare & Co

La renommée de cette jolie libraire anglaise vient surement de la passion qu’avait Hemingway pour cet établissement dans lequel il se rendait le plus fréquemment possible (vous y trouverez de multiples allusion dans « Paris est une fête »).

Entre quartier Latin et Île de la Cité, Shakespeare & Co est une agréable librairie parisienne qui sent bon le papier et la langue de… Shakespeare!

37 rue de la Bucherie  75005 Paris

Ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 10h à 23h, samedi et dimanche de 11h à 23h

http://www.shakespeareandcompany.com/

WHSmith

La plus grande librairie anglaise de Paris, et probablement le plus grand choix de livres de la capitale. WHSmith se distingue aussi par la vente de DVD et un grand rayon presse. Dans l’univers feutré de la rue de Rivoli, cette librairie, bien que quelque peu impersonnelle, est un grand classique pour tous les anglophones parisiens.

248 Rue de Rivoli  75001 Paris

Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 9h à 19h, les dimanche et jours fériés de 12h30 à 19h

www.whsmith.fr

Abbey Bookshop

Cachée quelques rues derrière la célébre Shakespeare & Co, The Abbey Bookshop (librairie Canadienne) est le genre de librairie dont raffolent les passionnés de papier. L’endroit est étroit et les étales regorgent de bouquins qui s’étendent d’ailleurs jusque sur le trottoir. En plus des livres anglais, on peut y trouver de la littérature allemande ou néerlandaise, ainsi que des livres d’occasion.

29, rue de la Parcheminerie

Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 10h à 19h.

http://abbeybookshop.wordpress.com/

Galignani

Une librairie qui se décrit elle-même comme s’attachant « plus que jamais à servir une clientèle exigeante […], les lecteurs les plus curieux et les plus cultivés de Paris ». Un établissement haut de gamme qui fait évidemment partie des grandes références anglophones de Paris.

Son petit plus : outre la jolie verrière à l’intérieur de la boutique, être « the first english bookshop established on the continent »…

224, rue de Rivoli Paris 1er
 
Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 10h à 19h

http://www.galignani.com/

LIBRAIRIES GERMANOPHONE

Librairie Allemande Marissal Buecher

En face de Beaubourg, cette librairie est une véritable Mecque pour les Germanophones. Outre les traditionnels méthodes de langues et autres classiques littéraires, vous y trouverez de quoi contenter tous les goûts : littérature tous les pays et tous les continents, beaux livres, calendriers, littérature spécialisée…

Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

42 rue Rambuteau 75003 Paris 

http://www.marissal.com/

LIBRAIRIE ASIATIQUE

Librairie Le Phénix

Methodes, dictionnaires, supports multimédia , littérature, histoire , philosophie … Cette librairie de 200m² située boulevard Sébastopol depuis 1965 est un véritable centre culturel du monde chinois et asiatique (ouvrages en français, anglais et chinois).

72 boulevard de Sébastopol 75003 PARIS

Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 10h à 19h

http://www.librairielephenix.fr/ 

LIBRAIRIE LUSOPHONE 

Librairie Portugaise et Brésilienne

A quelques pas seulement du Panthéon, vous trouverez dans la librairie Portugaise et Brésilienne une très riche collection de livres en Français et/ou Portugais, de nombreux manuels et méthodes, mais aussi des conférences et débats organisées par la librairie elle-même.

Une référence pour tous les amoureux de culture portugaise… et brésilienne.

19/21 rue des Fossés Saint-Jacques, Place de l’Estrapade 75005 Paris

Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 11h à 13h & de 14h à 19h

www.librairie-portugaise.com

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.