Museums Museums and Monuments

Victor Hugo Museum

Victor Hugo Museum, housed in the 280m² apartment of Place des Vosges where Victor Hugo has lived for more than 15 years (1832-1848), will allow you to immerse in the everyday life of one of the greatest writers and poets of all time. It is also a nice occasion to appreciate the charm of a bourgeois apartment of this magnificent Parisian square.

The museum is split in two floors. The first level is dedicated to the temporary exhibitions, where you can also find a part of the museum permanent collection, made up of texts, drawings and other documents belonging to the author. As for the building itself, named the Hotel Rohan-Guéménée, it is known to be one of the loveliest of the Place des Vosges.

Then, go upstairs to the second floor, where Victor Hugo’s house is located. It is a reconstitution of the writer’s living space according to drawings and archives, since the furniture was sold after the exile, and the building was redesigned. Be assured though that you will find lots of original pieces the City of Paris was able to recover, some of which are rather surprising, like furniture painted by Victor Hugo himself.

You will also see reconstitutions of the other apartments where the Hugo family lived (Guernesey and the Hotel de l’Avenue d’Eylau) while following the tumultuous chronology of the writer, mainly marked by his political exile.

Paintings, manuscripts, sculptures and period furniture: the museum mixes different types of artwork, in order for you to discover the privacy of a man of influence, seriously affected by personal tragedies (in particular, his daughter’s death in Paris) and driven by political convictions he will never deny.

 

Useful Informations

6 Place des Vosges
75004 Paris
Metro : Saint-Paul (L 1), Bastille (L 1, 5, 8), Chemin Vert (L 8)
Bus: 20,29,69,76,96
Open 10a.m to 6p.m from tuesday to sunday, closed on monday and public holiday
Continuous collection free, exhibitions : 2.5€ to 5€

Map

(Français) Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook

Musées Musées et Monuments

Maison de Victor Hugo

La Maison de Victor Hugo, située dans un appartement de la Place des Vosges de 280m² dans lequel Victor Hugo a habité pendant un peu plus de 15 ans (1832-1848), est à la fois une immersion dans le quotidien d’un des plus grands écrivains et poètes de tous les temps, et l’occasion d’apprécier le charme d’un appartement bourgeois de cette superbe place parisienne. 

L’immeuble abritant le musée, appelé l’Hôtel Rohan-Guéménée, est en effet reconnu comme l’un des plus beaux de la place…

Le musée est découpé en deux étages. Le premier niveau est consacré aux expositions temporaires. Le reste du temps, vous y trouverez une partie de la collection permanente du musée, principalement des textes, dessins et documents de l’auteur.

Au second étage de la “Maison” se trouve l’appartement de Victor Hugo. Sachez qu’il est une reconstitution du lieu de vie de l’écrivain d’après des archives, puisque le mobilier a été vendu après son exil, et le bâtiment réaménagé. Rassurez-vous, vous y trouverez bon nombre de pièces d’origines récupérées par la ville de Paris, dont certaines, comme les meubles peints par Victor Hugo lui-même, sont assez surprenantes.

Vous y verrez également la reconstitution des autres appartements habités par la famille Hugo (Guernesey et  l’Hôtel de l’Avenue d’Eylau ) à travers un parcours qui suit la chronologie mouvementée de l’auteur, marquée principalement par son exil politique.

Tableaux, manuscrits, sculptures et mobilier d’époque, la maison de Victor Hugo mélange les œuvres afin de vous faire découvrir l’intimité d’un homme d’influence rongé par des drames personnels (notamment la mort de sa fille à Paris) et animé par des convictions politiques qu’il ne reniera jamais.

 

Pour continuer votre découverte de Victor Hugo, suivez notre balade sur les traces de Victor Hugo dans le Marais. Vous pouvez également suivre notre itinéraire de promenade dans le Marais

Infos Utiles

6 Place des Vosges, 75004 Paris
Métro : Saint-Paul (L 1), Bastille (L 1, 5, 8), Chemin Vert (L 8)
Bus: 20,29,69,76,96
Ouvert de 10h à 18h du mardi au dimanche, fermé lundi et jours fériés.
Collection permanente gratuite

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook