The elm of Saint-Gervais

On the Place Saint-Gervais, in the 4th arrondissement, just behind the Hotel de Ville, stands the beautiful Saint-Gervais-Saint-Protais church, built in the 13th century and embellished in the 17th. On the forecourt, you can see an elm whose history is closely tied to the neighborhood.

orme saint gervais

This tree, which is unfortunately not the original, is a witness of an old medieval tradition. Mentioned in the 14th century, the Saint-Gervais elm served both as a geographical landmark, a meeting place for the local population and as a land of justice.

In the Middle Ages, it was customary in Paris or other places to plant an elm in front of churches, houses of lords or at crossroads. The Elm was a gathering place for neighborhood celebrations, and lords received their taxes under the tree on the Sunday after Mass. A tree so tied to the history of the district that in 1733, a craftsman reproduced the image of the tree in the ironwork of the balconies of the first floor of the building located at No. 4-12 rue François Miron.

orme balcon rue francois miron

In 1794, under the revolution, the tree was felled, especially to make cannon carriages. The elm that we see today was replanted in 1914 thanks to the parish priest of Saint-Gervais, who wanted to revive the memory of this legendary tree.

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

L’orme millénaire de Saint-Gervais

Sur la place Saint-Gervais, dans le 4e arrondissement, juste derrière l’Hôtel de Ville de Paris, se dresse la superbe église Saint-Gervais-Saint-Protais, érigée au 13e siècle puis agrandie et embellie au 17e. Sur le parvis, vous pouvez y découvrir un orme dont l’histoire est étroitement attachée au quartier. 

orme saint gervais

Cet arbre, qui n’est malheureusement plus celui d’origine, est le successeur d’une lignée d’orme qui ont occupé depuis le Moyen Âge le centre de la place, témoin d’une vieille tradition médiévale. Mentionné au 14e siècle, l’orme de Saint-Gervais servait à la fois de repère géographique, de lieu de réunion pour la population du quartier et de terre de justice. 

Au moyen-âge, il était d’usage à Paris ou dans d’autres localités, de planter un orme devant les églises, les maisons des seigneurs ou encore aux carrefours. On s’y rassemblait les jours de fête pour boire et danser, et les seigneurs y rendaient justice ou y recevaient leurs impôts le dimanche après la messe. Un arbre si imprégné dans l’histoire du quartier qu’en 1733, un artisan a reproduit l’image de l’arbre dans la ferronnerie des balcons du premier étage de l’immeuble situé au n°4-12 de la rue François Miron voisine.

orme balcon rue francois miron

En 1794, sous la révolution, l’arbre fut abattu, notamment pour réaliser des affûts de canon. L’orme que l’on voit aujourd’hui a été replanté en 1914 à la demande du curé de Saint-Gervais, qui souhaitait faire revivre la mémoire de cet arbre légendaire. 

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Les visites guidées Un Jour de Plus à Paris : un ton différent pour aborder histoire, anecdotes et secrets de ...
Lire La Suite…