jam session cave du 38 riv

La Cave du 38’Riv

If you want to listen to Jazz music in Paris, you can of course go to rue des Lombards, but some other places, scattered here and there around Paris, have also kept the spirit that made Paris one of the world’s capitals for this music during the second half of the 20th century.

Among these clubs, you will find the Cave du 38’Riv at Rivoli Street. It is a place that exudes Jazz, for not being able to sweat it any more, as back then, in a crazy atmosphere with a haze of cigarette smoke.

In the basement, you can listen to concerts under old stone vaults. The setting is narrow, intimist, but welcoming. Because even though Jazz music has become a music for bourgeois salons over the years, the Cave du 38’Riv hasn’t forgotten it’s popular origins and therefore offers every Monday, Thursday and Friday nights Jam Sessions.

During these Jam Sessions, you will see different musicians coming up one after the other, interchanging instruments as they want along the pieces played. The entry to these sessions is free, and you will have to pay a (little) participation for your first drink.

Another great advantage of the Cave du 38’Riv are the very reasonable prices for drinks (between 2,5€ and 7€), far from the prohibitive prices you will find in other Parisian clubs!

On the other days of the week (Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday) the Cave organizes paying concerts with a very eclectic programming.

Finally, on Sundays, you can attend the « Baroque Teas », baroque and classical concerts at snack time (5 p.m.)

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

jam session cave du 38 riv

La Cave du 38’Riv

Pour voir du Jazz à Paris il y a l’inévitable rue des Lombards, mais aussi quelques clubs disséminés çà et là et qui ont su eux aussi conserver l’âme qui a fait de Paris l’une des capitales mondiales de cette musique pendant la seconde moitié du 20ème siècle.

Parmi ces clubs, vous trouverez rue de Rivoli la Cave du 38’Riv. Un lieu qui respire le jazz, faute de pouvoir comme à l’époque le transpirer dans une ambiance un peu folle nappée de fumée de cigarette.

En sous-sol, on profite des concerts sous de vieilles voûtes en pierre. Le cadre est étroit, intimiste, mais chaleureux. Car si le jazz est devenu au fil du temps une musique de salons bourgeois, la Cave du 38’riv n’a pas oublié ses origines populaires et propose tous les lundis, jeudis et vendredis des Jam Sessions.

Des « bœufs » pendants lesquels vous verrez défiler différents musiciens les uns après les autres, s’échangeant les instruments au gré des morceaux choisis. Des sessions en entrée libre, avec une (faible) participation lors de la première consommation.

Autre grand avantage de la cave du 38’Riv, les tarifs des consommations sont raisonnables (entre 2,5€ et 7€), loin en tout cas des tarifs prohibitifs pratiqués par d’autres clubs parisiens !

Les autres jours (mardi, mercredi, vendredi) la cave organise des concerts payants à la programmation éclectique.

Enfin, vous pouvez assister le dimanche à des « thés Baroque », concerts baroques et classiques à l’heure du goûter (17h).

Une excellente adresse !

 

En vous rendant à la cave du 38’Riv, pensez à passer aux n° 11 et 13 rue François Miron découvrir l’un des plus anciens bâtiments de Paris (14e siècle).

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.