The Gobelins Factory

The name “Gobelins” comes from Jehan Goblin, who settled in the 15th century in the banks of the Bièvre river to create dyeing workshop. Its activity became very well known in the Faubourg Saint-Marcel, then bought by the king to become “Crown’s Royal Factory of furniture and tapestries”. An original discovery of a very old French institution.

visite

HISTORY In 1602, Henri IV decided to develop the French factory to limit imports of products like carpets and tapestries, which the Royal Court was a big consumer. He rented buildings owned by Gobelin descendants tapestry and settled two Flemish to run it: Marc de Comans and François de la Planche.

In 1662, Colbert (Minister of Louis XIV) bought the buildings for the crown and decided to create the “Crown’s Royal Factory of furniture and tapestries”, where settled upholsterers but also painters, goldsmiths, engravers… Reserved for furnitures fot Royal Houses and diplomatic gifts, it will know a 30 years heyday, before being closed by Louis XIV who ruined the country with wars…

From the 18th century until today, the Gobelins continue to weave contemporary masterpieces, according to the origins of this old institution. Today, the Factory depends on the “Mobilier National” (National Furniture), which reinforced concrete headquarter located rue du Barbier Mets is a major construction of Perret brothers.

Photographie : Jean-Philippe Humbert
Photographie : Jean-Philippe Humbert

VISIT THE FACTORY

Today, the Manufacture Nationale des Gobelins still weaves tapestries to decorate public buildings. 3 days per week ( Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday) you can discover the history of places and see the workshops through visits organized by tour guides. The gallery can also be visited freely during temporary exhibitions inside buildings.

During your visits, in addition to the discovery of weavers, do not miss the buildings and courses of the Factory . Some indeed date from the 17th and 18th centuries, including the house of the first director Charles le Brun, or the old chapel built in 1723.

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

manufacture des gobelins

La Manufacture des Gobelins

Le nom de « Gobelins » vient de Jehan Gobelin, qui installa au 15e siècle sur les bords de la rivière Bièvre un atelier de teinture. Son activité devint très réputée dans le Faubourg Saint-Marcel (notamment grâce au succès de son rouge à l’écarlate) puis rachetée par le roi pour devenir « Manufacture Royale des meubles et des tapisseries de la Couronne ».

Une très vieille institution française dont vous pouvez découvrir l’histoire et les bâtiments. 

visite

Histoire des Gobelins

En 1602, Henri IV décide de développer la manufacture Française pour limiter les importations de produits comme les tapis et les tapisseries, dont la cour royale est grande consommatrice. Le roi fait donc installer dans des bâtiments loués aux descendants des teinturiers Gobelin des ateliers de tapisserie dirigés par deux flamands, Marc de Comans et François de la Planche.

En 1662, Colbert (ministre de Louis XIV) rachète les bâtiments et décide d’y créer la « Manufacture Royale des meubles et des tapisseries de la Couronne », où s’installent tapissiers, mais aussi peintres, orfèvres, graveurs, ébénistes… Réservée à l’ameublement des Maisons Royales et aux présents diplomatiques, elle connaîtra 30 ans d’âge d’or et de rayonnement international, avant que les guerres de Louis XIV ne ruinent le pays et l’obligent à fermer pendant… 5 ans.

Depuis le 18e siècle jusqu’à nos jours, les Gobelins continuent à tisser, suivant les origines de cette vieille institution. Aujourd’hui, la Manufacture dépend du Mobilier National, dont le siège en béton armé, situé rue Barbier-du-Mets, est d’ailleurs une construction majeure des frères Perret.

Photographie : Jean-Philippe Humbert

Photographie : Jean-Philippe Humbert

Visiter la manufacture

Aujourd’hui encore, la Manufacture Nationale des Gobelins tisse toujours des tapisseries pour décorer des édifices publics. 3 jours par semaine (les mardi, mercredi et jeudi) vous pouvez découvrir l’histoire des lieux et voir les ateliers grâce aux visites organisées par des guides conférenciers.

La galerie se visite aussi librement lors des expositions temporaires présentées à l’intérieur des bâtiments. Lors de vos visites, outre la découverte des lissiers, ne loupez pas les bâtiments et cours qui forment la manufacture des Gobelins. Certains remontent en effet aux 17e et 18e siècles, notamment le logement du premier directeur de la Manufacture Charles le Brun, ou l’ancienne chapelle édifiée en 1723.

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.