Canal Saint-Martin is empty, and improbables objects have been found

Since January 4, Canal Saint-Martin is emptied, step by step, its 90,000 cubic meters of water and will stay dry for three months for a thorough cleaning. The opportunity to refurbish the four double locks of the canal, which will be completely renovated, from small parts wear to the control and switching devices. The last such operation was conducted 14 years ago, in 2001.

photo canal saint martin vide

The opportunity also to clean the depths of the canal, which gives us every time its share of unlikely discoveries. If in 2001 shells dating from the First World War had been found after the water drained, it is a gun that was discovered during the 2015 edition.

Great guest of this year: the Velib, arrived in Paris in 2007, which lines with scooters, buggies and caddies mud Canal Saint-Martin. Objects that, if they could speak, would have many stories to tell us about the events that led them to these places …

scooter canal saint martin vide canal saint martin vide 2016 canal saint martin vide 2015 photo scooter canal saint martin vide

As for Fishes, 50 cm of water were left the first days of discharge to enable backup of fishing, conducted by a specialized company, and return to the Bassin de l’Arsenal and the Seine those who have gone astray in phases drain water.

photo canal saint martin vide 2016 peche poissons canal saint martin vide

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Canal Saint-Martin : vidé pour un grand nettoyage, d’improbables objets découverts !

Depuis le 4 janvier, le Canal Saint-Martin est vidé, étapes par étapes, de ses 90 000 mètres cubes d’eau, et va rester à sec pendant trois mois (jusqu’au 4 avril) pour un nettoyage complet. L’occasion de remettre à neuf les quatre doubles écluses du canal, qui seront entièrement rénovées, depuis les petites pièces d’usure jusqu’aux organes de commande et de manœuvre. La dernière opération de ce genre avait été menée il ya 14 ans, en 2001.

photo canal saint martin vide

L’occasion également de nettoyer les profondeurs du canal, lesquelles nous offrent à chaque fois leur lot de découvertes improbables. Si en 2001 des obus datant de la Première Guerre mondiale avaient été retrouvés une fois l’eau vidée, c’est un pistolet qui a été découvert lors de cette édition 2015.

Grand invité de cette année : le Vélib, arrivé à Paris en 2007, qui tapisse avec les scooters, poussettes et caddies la vase du Canal Saint-Martin. Des objets qui, s’ils pouvaient parler, auraient bien des histoires à nous raconter sur les évènements qui les ont conduits vers ces lieux…

scooter canal saint martin vide canal saint martin vide 2016 canal saint martin vide 2015 photo scooter canal saint martin vide

Côté poissons, 50 cm d’eau ont été laissés les premiers jours d’évacuation pour permettre la pêche de sauvegarde, menée par une société spécialisée, et renvoyer vers le Bassin de l’Arsenal et la Seine ceux qui se sont égarés lors des phases d’évacuation de l’eau.

photo canal saint martin vide 2016 peche poissons canal saint martin vide

Le canal compte en effet une très importante faune piscicole (ablettes, brochets, gardons, tanches, carpes, anguilles, sandres, goujons, barbeaux, perches, lotus…).

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.