What to do in Paris during Christmas holidays ?

Winter temperatures, shortened day … The holiday season between Christmas and the New Year’s Eve may seem like one of the least appropriate one to discover Paris. Think again ! At this time, the streets, shop windows and avenues are adorned with illuminations, snow give the city an original appearence, and the overall atmosphere, more than any other time, is to celebrate the holidays.

To fully enjoy the charms of Paris, discover what to do during the Christmas holidays.

1. CHRISTMAS MARKETS

champs elysees

You can find Christmas markets all through Paris neighborhoods. Prefer to big ones, such as the Champs Elysees Market, smaller markets, ideal for a warm wine with Pretzel break.

> All Christmas markets

2. BERCY VILLAGE

noel 2014

Bercy Village, located in the heart of the old warehouses of wines of Paris, offers annual Christmas entertainments for all the family. Decorated with illuminations created by an artist, the village and its shops organize every weekend family activities around the Christmas theme.

> More information (French Only)

3. THE COVERED PASSAGES

passage couvert de Paris

Since the 9th district and the Grands Boulevards to the Louvre, the “Covered passages” are an opportunity for a nice walk in Paris while being protected from the cold weather. The ideal walking tour during the Christmas holidays.

> See our Covered Passages walking tour

4. NEW CULTURAL SITES

musée d'art contemporain

Louis Vuitton Foundation for Contemporary Art, the Monnaie de Paris, the Picasso Museum … All these places have (re)opened few weeks ago. Take advantage of the holidays to discover these new Parisian cultural places, and warm up looking the art of Picasso, or inside the unusual and modern architecture of the Louis Vuitton Foundation.

> All about the new cultural sites.

5. BANKS OF SEINE

installation sportive sur les berges

Over the holidays, the Banks of the Seine offer many family activities and winter sports. More than 2 kilometers of pedestrian area along the Seine.

> More information

6. EXHIBITIONS

selection expo a paris

Monumental sculptures by Niki de Saint-Phalle or master Hokusai at the Grand Palais, the “street photography” of the 50’s by Garry Winogrand at the Jeu de Paume, Sonia Delaunay at the Museum of Modern Art, or one of the greatest Impressionism art dealers Paul Durand-Ruel at the Luxembourg Museum. The great exhibitions abound during the holidays …

7. Ice Rink

noel 2014

© Henri Garat / Paris City Hall

Until March 1st, two ice rinks take the City Hall centre stage, one of which being for children under 6 years old. Beginners or advanced, take your skates and glide over Paris! (During the Christmas holidays : Monday from 12h to 22h, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 9:30 am to 22h, until midnight on Friday and Saturday)

The Grand Palais also houses below its sumptuous nave the largest ephemeral ice rank in France until January 4.

 

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Que faire à Paris pendant les fêtes ?

Températures hivernales, jours écourtés… La période des fêtes, entre Noël et le Nouvel An, peut paraitre comme l’une des moins propices pour découvrir Paris. Détrompez-vous ! À cette période, les ruelles, vitrines des magasins et grandes avenues se parent d’illuminations, les jours de neige donnent à la ville un aspect original, et l’ambiance générale, plus que toute autre période, est à la célébration des fêtes.

Pour profiter pleinement des charmes de Paris, découvrez que faire pendant les fêtes.

1. Les marchés de Noël

champs elysees

Les marchés de Noël ont investi tous les quartiers de Paris depuis quelques années. Privilégiez aux gigantesques marchés, comme celui des Champs-Élysées, des marchés de plus petite taille, idéals pour une halte vin chaud et bretzel avant de continuer vos promenades.

> Tous les marchés de Noël

2. Bercy Village

noel 2014

Bercy Village, installé au coeur des anciens entrepôts de vins et spiritueux de Paris, propose chaque année des animations de Noël pour toute la famille. Décoré par des illuminations créées par un artiste plasticien, le village et ses commerces sont animés tous les week-end par des activités familiales autour du thème de Noël. 

> Voir le programme

3. Les passages couverts de Paris

passage couvert de Paris

Depuis le 9e arrondissement et les Grands Boulevards jusqu’au Louvre, les passages couverts sont l’occasion d’une jolie balade tout en étant protégé des intempéries. L’itinéraire idéal pendant les fêtes.

> Voir notre balade des passages couverts

 

 

4. Les nouveaux lieux culturels parisiens

musée d'art contemporain

Fondation Louis Vuitton pour l’Art Contemporain, la Monnaie de Paris, le Musée Picasso… Tous ces lieux ont (ré)ouvert il y a peu de temps.

Profitez des fêtes pour découvrir ces nouveaux lieux culturels parisiens, et vous réchauffer au contact de l’art éternel de Picasso, ou de l’architecture atypique et moderne de la Fondation Louis Vuitton.

> Tout savoir sur l’ouverture de ces nouveaux lieux culturels.

5. Berges de Seine

installation sportive sur les berges

Pendant les fêtes, les Berges de Seine proposent de nombreuses activités familiales en relation avec les sports d’hiver. Plus de 2 kilomètres d’espaces piétons en bord de Seine.

> Plus d’informations

6. Expositions

selection expo a paris

Sculptures monumentales de Niki de Saint-Phalle ou le maître Hokusai au Grand-Palais, la “street photography” des années 50 aux États-Unis de Garry Winogrand au Jeu de Paume, Sonia Delaunay au Musée d’Art Moderne, l’un des plus grands marchands d’art de l’impressionnisme Paul Durand-Ruel au musée du Luxembourg. Les belles expositions ne manquent pas pendant les fêtes…

> Voir aussi notre sélection des meilleures expos du moment.

7. Patinoires

noel 2014

©Henri Garat/Mairie de Paris

Jusqu’au 1er mars 2015, 2 patinoires trônent devant l’Hôtel de Ville de Paris, dont l’une est réservée aux enfants de moins de 6 ans, avec des nocturnes jusqu’à minuit les vendredi et samedi. Débutants ou confirmés, chaussez vos patins, et glissez sur Paris ! (Pendant les vacances de Noël : lundi de 12h à 22h, mardi, mercredi, jeudi, vendredi, samedi et dimanche de 9h30 à 22h, nocturnes jusqu’à minuit les vendredi et samedi.)

Le Grand Palais abrite également sous sa somptueuse nef jusqu’au 4 janvier 2015 la plus grande patinoire éphémère de France.

 

Sinon, voir aussi les choses à ne (surtout) pas faire à Paris.

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.