Paris, former capital of wine

Partly forgotten today, the history of Paris is closely linked to that of wine. Started around 276, developed and improved under the Roman Empire, the culture of the vine in the Ile-de-France will peak in the 18th century, making Paris’ wine the largest in the country.

Remembering those days when Paris was – also – the French capital of wine, some vines still exist in ancient iconic wineries places. Flashback to a very old story of which we have, fortunately, a few remnants.

Montmartre

vigne rue des saules

It was decided to plant in 1933, rue des Saules in Montmartre, a vineyard recalling the yesteryear prestige. Oldest vine in the capital, its wine had been tasted by the Emperor Julian in 360, first Roman Emperor to have settled in the Palais de la Cité, and wine-making reached its heyday in the Middle Ages.

On the eastern slope of the mound, the “Goutte d’Or” also recalls the heyday of Montmartre wine. This wine was called “Goutte d’Or” (Golden drop) because of its high quality and from its beautiful white color.

The vine in Montmartre disappeared around the 18th century. 

Belleville

 paris

History of Paris’ wine is closely linked to that of Belleville, who is remembered today by a plot planted in 1992 in the Parc de Belleville, made of Pinot Meunier and Chardonnay.

plan vignes

Belleville vineyards in 1790

Wine culture has been certified in Belleville since the 13th century. At the beginning of the 18th century, it was used to come to Belleville to drink wine on Sundays and holidays. The houses of farmers were turned in the 19th century into “Guinguettes”, french name given from the “Guinguet”, a young, cheap and sparkling wine producted in Belleville.

vin de paris

Some streets remind of that time, as rue des Panoyaux (Nokernel street) – because the grapes had no pips – or rue du Pressoir (Press street).

 

Bercy

paris

Since 1662 was in Bercy neighborhood a Wine Market, quai Saint-Bernard. To respond to a consumption more and more important, new warehouses and halls were built between 1811 and 1878 on both sides of the Seine, making Bercy largest wine market in the world. A wines and spirits on nearly 106 acres !

ancienne halle aux vins

paris

cour saint emilion

If the old warehouses of the Quai Saint-Bernard have been replaced today by the Jussieu University and the Arab World Institute, the other side of the Seine has kept tracks of that time.

Some pavilions and a vineyard still can be seen in the Parc de Bercy, while the Bercy Village shopping center has been built on the few cellars preserved. You can also notice, in addition to lovely pavilions, ancient railway that come load and reload the barrels.

Jardin du 12e arrondissement de Paris

To see from metro Cour Saint-Émilion, obviously…

cour saint emilion

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Paris, ancienne capitale française du vin

En partie oubliée aujourd’hui, l’histoire de Paris est étroitement liée à celle du vin. Débutée aux alentours de 276, développée et améliorée sous l’Empire Romain, la culture de la vigne en Île-de-France connaitra son apogée au 18e siècle, faisant du vin parisien le plus important du pays (42 000 hectares) devant le Bordelais et le Bourgogne.

En souvenir de ce temps où Paris était – aussi – la capitale française du vin, quelques vignes existent encore dans d’anciens lieux vinicoles emblématiques. Retour sur une très vieille histoire dont il nous reste, heureusement, encore quelques traces. 

Montmartre

vigne rue des saules

Il fut décidé de planter en 1933, rue des Saules à Montmartre, un vignoble rappelant la prestigieuse culture d’antan. Plus vieille vigne de la capitale, son vin fut dégusté par l’Empereur Julien vers 360, premier Empereur Romain à avoir séjourné dans le Palais de la Cité, et sa culture connut son âge d’or au Moyen-Âge.

Sur le flanc Est de la Butte, le quartier de la Goutte d’Or rappelle d’ailleurs les grandes heures du vin Montmartrois. Le vin “Goutte d’Or” était en effet appelé ainsi de par sa grande qualité, et d’après la belle couleur du vin blanc que ses vignes produisaient.

La vigne à Montmartre disparut aux alentours du 18e siècle.

Belleville 

paris

L’histoire du vin à Paris est étroitement liée à celle de Belleville, qui nous est rappelée aujourd’hui par une parcelle plantée en 1992 dans le Parc de Belleville, composée de pieds de pinot meunier et de chardonnay.

plan vignes
Les vignes à Belleville en 1790 (représentées par des petits points)

La culture du vin est attestée à Belleville depuis le 13e siècle, à la suite de donations de vignes à des Abbayes. Dés le début du 18e siècle, il était d’usage de venir consommer du vin à Belleville le dimanche et les jours de fête. Les maisons d’agriculteurs et de vignerons se transformèrent au 19e siècle en “Guinguettes”, nom donné d’après le Guinguet, vin jeune, à bon marché et pétillant produit à Belleville.

vin de paris

Quelques rues aux noms de ce passé viticole subsistent à Belleville, comme la rue des Panoyaux – car les raisins qui y étaient cultivés n’avaient pas de pépins – ou la rue du Pressoir. 

Itinéraire de promenade à Belleville

Bercy

paris

Il existait depuis 1662 une Halle aux Vins à Bercy, sur le quai Saint-Bernard, en bordure de Seine. Pour répondre à une consommation de plus en plus importante de Paris et de la région, de nouveaux entrepôts et halles furent construits entre 1811 et 1878 sur les deux côtés de la Seine, qui firent de Bercy le plus grand marché vinicole du monde. Un marché mondial de vins et spiritueux sur près de 43 hectares !

ancienne halle aux vins

paris

cour saint emilion

Si les anciens entrepôts du quai Saint-Bernard ont été remplacés aujourd’hui par le Campus de Jussieu et l’Institut du monde Arabe, l’autre côté de la Seine a conservé des traces de ce passé. 

Quelques pavillons et une vigne sont visibles en effet dans le Parc de Bercy, tandis que le centre commercial Bercy Village s’est construit sur d’anciens chais preservés. Vous pourrez également y observer, en plus des jolis pavillons conservés, les rails des anciens chemins de fer qui venaient charger et décharger les tonneaux.

Jardin du 12e arrondissement de Paris

À voir depuis la sortie du métro Cour Saint-Émilion, évidemment…

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.