Place Vendôme

Place Vendome … a particular place to visit in Paris, where time seems to stand still. Created during the reign of Louis XIV in the 17th century, it has always been a great place for luxury and aristocracy. As a symbol, it is here that the decapitated heads of the French Revolution were showed with pride. It is also here that was proclaimed from the balcony of what is now the Ministry of Justice, the first French republic

You will notice when you arrive the uniqueness of the place. Way point, the square is paved in a homogeneous way and the pedestrian / car separation is symbolized by discreet bollards. All around are beautiful mansions, all recognized as historic monuments, which were the residences of the French nobility. Today, all buildings are owned by traders or large luxury hotels, such as the prestigious Ritz you will see at number 15. For those who wish (and can afford it …), know that the bar of the Palace is open to all and can be a very pleasant experience.

Finally, make a complete tour of the place and his luxuries shops (do not look too closely at the prices shown …) and pay attention to architectural details specific to each building. Add to that the beautiful street lights and you will understand why this place is considered as one of the most luxurious places in the world. A real treasure.


visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

More than traditional guided tours, Our walking tours will make you discover both the past and the present of Paris ...
Read More

Place Vendôme

La place Vendôme… un lieu à part dans Paris, où le temps parait s’être arrêté. Créée sous le règne de Louis XIV au 17e siècle, elle a toujours été un grand lieu d’aristocratie et de luxe. Comme un symbole, c’est ici que l’on venait promener avec fierté la tête des décapités pendant la révolution française. C’est également sur cette place que fut proclamée, au balcon de ce qui est aujourd’hui le Ministère de la Justice, la première république Française.

Vous remarquerez dès votre arrivée place Vendôme le caractère unique du lieu. Plus qu’une simple place, c’est d’ailleurs un véritable monument urbain à ciel ouvert… Point de route, le sol pavé de manière homogène et la séparation piéton/voiture est symbolisée par de discrètes bittes. Tout autour de la place se trouvent de superbes hôtels particuliers, tous reconnus monuments historiques, qui furent des résidences de la noblesse française. Aujourd’hui, tous ces bâtiments sont la propriété de commerçants de luxe ou à de grands hôtels, comme le prestigieux Ritz que vous verrez au N°15. Pour ceux qui le souhaitent (et en ont les moyens…), sachez que le bar du Palace est ouvert à tous et peut être une expérience très agréable.

Faîtes enfin le tour complet de la place et de ses vitrines de luxe (ne regardez pas de trop près les tarifs affichés…) et portez votre attention sur les détails architecturaux spécifiques à chaque bâtiment. Ajoutez à cela les magnifiques réverbères et vous comprendrez pourquoi cette place est considérée, outre comme un monument, être l’une des places les plus luxueuses au monde. Un vrai trésor.

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.