The funny detail of the monument to La Fayette

At the end of the 19th century, there was no statue in Paris in honor of the Marquis de La Fayette, hero of American independence and major historical figure of the French revolutions of 1789 and 1830. It is at the initiative Americans it was decided to erect a monument to his glory, now visible in the 8th arrondissement. A statue that has since donned a detail as discreet as it is unobtrusive …

To thank France for having offered the United States the Statue of Liberty, an American named Robert Thompson opened a subscription to American school children to finance a monumental statue in tribute to General La Fayette, who remained famous in the United States for his participation in the war of independence.

The project was validated in 1899, and ordered to the American sculptor Paul Barlett, who works in France, to realize the work for the Universal Exhibition organized in Paris in 1900. Either a year only to complete the monument …

A delay too short! On July 4, 1900, anniversary of American Independence, the statue is inaugurated in the Louvre, in the middle of the Napoleon’s Court (on the site of the current Pyramid). Having not had the time necessary to carry out the project, Barlett delivered for the ceremony a model in plaster, while waiting for the definitive sculpture.

But the artist was not satisfied with his model, and reworked his work entirely. He changed the costume, took off the hat, and represented La Fayette with the sword drawn, blade in the air. A job that lasted seven long years. It is therefore only in 1908 that the final statue, in bronze, replaced the plaster model.

In 1984, during the major transformation of the Louvre, including the construction of the Pyramid, the statue was removed to be transferred to the 8th arrondissement, on the course Queen. It was then that we discovered an unusual detail, passed completely unnoticed. Next to the horse’s left hind hoof figure … a little turtle.

Symbol of slowness, the sculptor added it at the last moment to make fun of himself, and of the time he put to realize his work.

This turtle remains difficult to see today, especially during the growing seasons of the surrounding trees. But by looking good, you will come to see him. We will appreciate in all cases the self-mockery of the sculptor and this little joke at the feet of the “hero of the two worlds”!

The monument at La Fayette is a few steps from the Grand Palais and the Petit Palais. To discover for example if you go to one of these museums.

La Fayette is buried in Paris, in the cemetery of Picpus.

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Le détail insolite du monument à La Fayette

À la fin du 19e siècle, il n’existait à Paris aucune statue en l’honneur du marquis de La Fayette, héros de l’indépendance américaine et figure historique majeure des révolutions françaises de 1789 et 1830. C’est à l’initiative des américains qu’il fut décidé d’ériger un monument à sa gloire, aujourd’hui visible dans le 8e arrondissement. Une statue qui revêt depuis lors un détail aussi discret qu’insolite…

Pour remercier la France d’avoir offert  aux États-Unis la Statue de la Liberté, un américain du nom de Robert Thompson ouvrit une souscription auprès des écoliers américains pour financer une statue monumentale en hommage au général La Fayette, resté célèbre aux États-Unis pour sa participation à la guerre d’indépendance.

Le projet est validé en 1899, et commande est faite au sculpteur américain Paul Barlett, qui travaille en France, de réaliser l’oeuvre pour l’Exposition Universelle organisée à Paris en 1900. Soit un an seulement pour achever le monument…

Un délai bien trop court ! Le 4 juillet 1900, jour anniversaire de l’Indépendance américaine, la statue est inaugurée au Louvre, au milieu de la Cour Napoléon (à l’emplacement de la Pyramide actuelle). Mais, n’ayant pas eu le temps nécessaire pour mener à bien le projet, Barlett livra pour la cérémonie un modèle en plâtre, en attendant la sculpture définitive.

Insatisfait de son modèle, il retravailla finalement entièrement son oeuvre. Il modifia le costume, retira le chapeau, et représenta La Fayette avec l’épée dégainée, lame en l’air. Un travail qui dura sept longues années. Ce n’est donc qu’en 1908 que la statue définitive, en bronze, remplaça le modèle en plâtre.

En 1984, lors des grands travaux de transformation du Louvre, et notamment la construction de la Pyramide, la statue fut enlevée pour être transférée dans le 8e arrondissement, sur le cours la Reine. C’est alors que l’on découvrit un détail insolite, passé totalement inaperçu. À côté du sabot du postérieur gauche du cheval figure… une petite tortue.

Symbole de lenteur, le sculpteur l’a ajoutée au dernier moment pour se moquer de lui-même, et du temps qu’il a mis pour réaliser son oeuvre.

Cette tortue reste difficile à voir aujourd’hui, notamment lors des saisons de végétation des arbres environnants. Mais en cherchant bien, vous arriverez à l’apercevoir. On appréciera dans tous cas l’auto-dérision du sculpteur et cette petite blague aux pieds du “héros des deux mondes” !

Voir aussi : l'histoire insolite de la statue de Jeanne d'Arc

 

Le monument à La Fayette se trouve à quelques pas du Grand Palais et du Petit Palais. À découvrir par exemple si vous vous rendez dans l’un de ces musées. 

La Fayette est enterré à Paris, au cimetière de Picpus

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Les visites guidées Un Jour de Plus à Paris : un ton différent pour aborder histoire, anecdotes et secrets de ...
Lire La Suite…