7 Off-beat Museums in Paris

If Paris is known as one of the greatest cultural capitals in the world, this is obviously due to its numerous museums (Louvre, Orsay, the Quai Branly …) and their rich collections.

But besides also exist some small and unusual museums. Ideal for a short visit, they are an original way to have fun, discover a very specific topic, or just to have an out of the ordinary moment.

Museum of Counterfeiting

musee contrefacon paris

A museum that still remains unknown while it has been existing for over 60 years! In addition to hundreds of counterfeit items presented, from luxury brands to the everyday products, this museum is also an opportunity to discover a beautiful hôtel particulier of the 16th district, which is also itself a exact replica of a 17th century’s hotel of the Marais. It does not just happen…

Museum Site

Musée Dupuytren

musee dupuytren paris

Established through a bequest of a professor of surgery at the Faculty of Medicine of Paris, the Musée Dupuytren exists since 1835. A museum that deals with anatomical pathology, and includes more than 6000 pieces: waxes, bony parts or pieces preserved in jar, photos, paintings, prints and even some instruments … A place where it is good to be healthy!

Museum Site

Museum of Eroticism

paris

What better district than Pigalle could accommodate a museum of Erotica in Paris? On several floors, this museum covers issues like erotic art in civilizations or sexuality in our society. It is also – and above all – an original cabinet of curiosities, not visit with any partner…

Museum of Magic

musee magie paris photo

At the heart of the Marais, the Museum of Magic offers a rich collection of controllers, optical illusions, posters, prints and objects of magic. An original show of the (wonderful) illusionists world since the 18th century to the present day. Ending, of course, with a magic trick.

Museum Site

 

Perfume Museum

musee parfum fragonard

A few steps from the Opera Garnier, in a beautiful mansion of Napoleon III (and former apartment of Maria Callas) , the perfumer Fragonard created in 1983 the perfume museum. A rare collection of artifacts tracing the history of perfumery from antiquity to the early 20th century.

Museum Site

Museum of smoking

musee fumeur paris

In the 11th arrondissement, the museum of smoking reflects an ancient practice: smoking. The common objects of smoking in different places and eras mingle smoke plants around the world, and the pipes of the 18th century rub shoulders with electronic cigarettes. Is perhaps better not be a former smoker to visit this museum …

Museum Site

Museum of the Prefecture of Police

photo musee prefecture police

Created in 1909 by the Préfet Louis Lépine (famous for the inventors contest that bears his name), this museum offers an overview of the activities of the police department during the 19th and 20 centuries through a collection of documents related to major events of history of France (conspiracies, arrests), famous criminal cases, as well as a stone rare pieces (arms and uniforms).

Museum Site

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

7 Musées insolites à Paris

Si Paris est reconnue comme l’une des plus grandes capitales culturelles du monde, c’est évidemment grâce à ses innombrables musées (Le Louvre, Orsay, le Quai Branly…) et leurs très riches collections. 

Mais à côté existent aussi quelques petits musées insolites. Idéals pour une courte visite entre deux balades, ils sont un moyen original de s’amuser, de découvrir un sujet très spécifique, ou tout simplement de passer un moment qui sorte de l’ordinaire.

Voir aussi les musées inconnus de Paris

Musée de la Contrefaçon

musee contrefacon paris

Un musée original qui demeure aujourd’hui encore méconnu alors qu’il existe depuis plus de 60 ans ! En plus des centaines d’objets de contrefaçon présentés, depuis les grandes marques de luxe jusqu’aux produits du quotidien, ce musée est aussi l’occasion de découvrir un joli hôtel particulier du 16e arrondissement, qui est d’ailleurs lui-même une copie exacte d’un hôtel du 17e siècle qui se trouvait dans le Marais. Ça ne s’invente pas…

Site du musée 

Musée Dupuytren

musee dupuytren paris

Fondé grâce à un leg d’un professeur de médecine opératoire à la faculté de médecine de Paris, le musée Dupuytren existe depuis 1835. Un musée qui traite des pathologies anatomiques, et réunit plus de 6000 pièces : cires, pièces osseuses ou pièces conservées en bocal, photos, peintures, gravures et même quelques instruments… Âmes sensibles, s’abstenir !

Site du musée

Musée de l’Érotisme

paris

Quel quartier mieux que Pigalle pouvait accueillir à Paris un musée de l’Érotisme ? Sur plusieurs étages, ce musée aborde des thèmes comme l’art érotique dans les civilisations ou la place de la sexualité dans notre société. C’est aussi et surtout un cabinet de curiosités original, à ne pas visiter avec n’importe quel partenaire…

Musée de la Magie

musee magie paris photo

Au coeur du Marais, le Musée de la Magie propose une riche collection d’automates, d’illusions d’optique, d’affiches, de gravures et d’objets de magie. Un panorama original du monde (merveilleux) des illusionnistes depuis le 18ème siècle jusqu’à nos jours. Et qui s’achève, évidemment, par une séance de magie.

Site du musée

Musée du parfum

musee parfum fragonard

À quelques pas de l’Opéra Garnier, dans un bel hôtel particulier de style Napoléon III (et ancien appartement de Maria Callas), le parfumeur Fragonard a créé depuis 1983 le musée du parfum. Une collection rare d’objets qui retracent l’histoire de la parfumerie depuis l’antiquité jusqu’au début du 20e siècle.

Site du musée 

Musée du fumeur

musee fumeur paris

Dans le 11e arrondissement, le musée du fumeur rend compte d’une pratique ancestrale : fumer. Aux objets usuels du fumeur selon les lieux et les époques s’y mêlent des plantes fumées de par le monde, et les pipes du 18e siècle côtoient les cigarettes électroniques. Mieux vaut peut-être ne pas être un ancien fumeur pour visiter ce musée…

Site du musée

Musée de la Préfecture de Police

photo musee prefecture police

Créé en 1909 par le préfet Louis Lépine (célèbre pour le concours des inventeurs qui porte son nom), ce musée offre un panorama de l’activité de la préfecture de police durant les 19e et 20 siècles via une collection de documents liés aux grands événements de l’histoire de France (conspirations, arrestations), des affaires criminelles célèbres, ainsi que quelques pièces originales (armes et uniformes).

Site du musée

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.