lac central

Montsouris Park

 This park in the southern part of the city isn’t very popular neither among tourists, nor among Parisians… It is nevertheless one of the city’s nicest parks. You will find anything here to spend a good time, and only the surrounding buildings and the noise of the RER (suburban train) passing through the park will remind you of the city life just a few meters away.

Montsouris (English: mouse hill. The name comes from all the rodents living in that area when the park was built), is a big place of greenery (more than 15 ha), which is above all a perfect place for a walk. But you can nonetheless also do all usual activities you do in a park, as imitating Parisian women by taking a sunbath in your swimsuit as soon as the sun comes out, or have a nice, lonesome rest on one of the large lawns.

You can furthermore discover several hundreds of trees at Montsouris, as plane trees, cedars or beech trees as well as a multitude of bird species living in their leaves. As for the kids, they will without any doubt have a lot of fun with the ducks of the central lake, who are always very popular with the youth.

 Finally, having a picnic at Montsouris park is an ideal activity. The best places are the small pieces of land near the lake.  

After your visit, to go to the Cité Internationale Universitaire, in front of Montsouris park. If you want to discover the neighborhood, see the walking tour from Montsouris to the Butte aux Cailles.

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

More than traditional guided tours, Our walking tours will make you discover both the past and the present of Paris ...
Read More

lac central

Parc Montsouris

Ce parc du sud de la ville n’est pas très connu par les touristes, ni même les parisiens… Il fait pourtant partie des espaces verts les plus agréables de la capitale. Tout y est rassemblé pour faire oublier le stress de la ville, et seuls les immeubles entourant le parc et le bruit du RER qui le traverse vous rappellent que la vie bat encore son plein à quelques mètres.

Montsouris (qui doit son nom aux rongeurs qui peuplaient la zone à l’époque de sa construction), est un grand espace vert (plus de 15 ha) très aéré dans lequel vous trouverez matière à toutes les activités classiques qu’offrent les jardins publics. Vous pourrez y imiter les parisiennes qui bronzent en maillot de bain dés que le soleil pointe le bout de son nez ou profiter d’un moment de repos solitaire sur l’une des vastes pelouses, tout en étant bercé par le bruit des enfants qui jouent aux alentours.

Car ce jardin est aussi un paradis pour les enfants qui peuvent s’y défouler sans ménagement. Ils s’amuseront aussi avec les canards du lac central qui connaissent toujours un grand succès auprès de ce jeune public. Pour les adultes, l’option pique-nique entre amis reste une option idéale. Les meilleurs endroits au Montsouris sont les petits bouts de terrain proche du lac.

Après avoir profité du parc, pensez à faire un tour par la Cité Internationale Universitaire qui lui fait face. Un agréable jardin dans lequel vous découvrirez aussi une très jolie architecture.

Pour une promenade plus longue aux alentours du parc Montsouris, votre la balade fleurie jusqu’au quartier des peupliers.

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.