Museums Museums and Monuments

Paleontology and comparative anatomy gallery

Belonging to the Museum of Natural History (which includes, among others, the Great Gallery of Evolution or the Jardin des PLantes), the gallery of Paleontology and Comparative Anatomy offers to discover the world of vertebrates present in nature as well than living things that have disappeared from the planet. Herds of skeletons and hundreds of organs that make this museum a real cabinet of curiosities, highlighted by the magnificent architecture of the building, built for the Universal Exhibition of 1900.

Witness to centuries of research and history of life, the gallery of Paleontology and Comparative Anatomy has an impressive collection of skeletons of wild carnivorous and herbivorous animals. Marine mammals, birds, reptiles … On the ground floor, you will find animals from around the world, including the famous rhinoceros offered to Louis XV and died during the French Revolution.

All around the gallery are presented in display cases of animal organs. Sensitive souls are warned!

On the second floor is the gallery of Paleontology. By following a chronological route, you cross the stages of the history of life. From the Paleozoic era (- 540 to – 250 million years) to the golden age of dinosaurs (Mesozoic era, – 250 to – 65 million years), you will discover the impressive molding of a Diplodocus , a Sarcosuchus, giant crocodile with scary teeth, or even an Iguanodon, a Triceratops, as well as the gigantic Dunkleosteus.

All around the gallery, a mezzanine lists an impressive number of invertebrates that have populated the planet for 3.5 billion years, and another part is devoted to plant fossils.

An exciting museum, particularly suitable for children.

Essential exhibitions

Musées Musées et Monuments

Galerie de Paléontologie et d’Anatomie comparée

Appartenant au Muséum d’Histoire Naturelle (qui comprend, entre autres, la Grande Galerie de l’Évolution ou encore le Jardin des Plantes), la galerie de Paléontologie et d’Anatomie comparée propose de découvrir le monde des vertébrés présents dans la nature ainsi que les êtres vivants disparus de la planète. Des troupeaux de squelettes et des centaines d’organes qui font de ce musée un véritable cabinet de curiosités, mis en valeur par la magnifique architecture de l’édifice, construit pour l’exposition universelle de 1900. 

Témoin de siècles de recherches et d’histoire de la vie, la galerie de Paléontologie et d’Anatomie comparée possède une impressionnante collection de squelettes d’animaux sauvages carnivores et herbivores. Mammifères marins, oiseaux, reptiles… Vous découvrirez au rez-de-chaussée des animaux du monde entier, dont le célèbre rhinocéros offert à Louis XV et mort pendant la Révolution française.

Tout autour de la galerie sont présentés dans des vitrines des organes d’animaux. Les âmes sensibles sont prévenues !

Au deuxième étage se trouve la galerie de Paléontologie. En suivant un itinéraire chronologique, vous traversez les étapes de l’histoire de la vie. Depuis l’ère paléozoïque (- 540 à – 250 millions d’années) à l’âge d’or des dinosaures (ère mésozoïque, – 250 à – 65 millions d’années), vous découvrirez l’impressionnant moulage d’un Diplodocus, un Sarcosuchus, crocodile géant à la dentition effrayante, ou encore un Iguanodon, un Tricératops, ainsi que le gigantesque Dunkleosteus.

Tout autour de la galerie, une mezzanine répertorie un nombre impressionnant d’invertébrés qui ont peuplé la planète depuis 3,5 milliards d’année, et une autre partie est consacrée aux fossiles de plantes.

Un musée passionnant, particulièrement adapté aux enfants.

 

De nombreuses activités complémentaires et visites sont possibles aux alentours de la Galerie de Paléontologie et d’Anatomie comparée. Outre le Jardin des Plantes et les musées qui le composent, vous pouvez découvrir la Grande Mosquée de Paris, le Jardin Tino Rossi, les Arènes de Lutèce, ou encore vous promener dans le quartier Mouffetard

Expos du moment