Museums Museums and Monuments

Marmottan-Monet Museum

Of the major Impressionist museums in Paris (Musée d’Orsay, the Orangery), the Marmottan-Monet Museum is perhaps the least known. His collection has nothing to envy to that of his illustrious acolytes, even if Orsay remains the world reference in the matter.

Indeed, it is at the Musée Marmottan-Monet that you will find, among other wonders, the world’s largest collection of works by Claude Monet.

Located in the luxurious Ranelagh district (north of the 16th arrondissement), the Museum is a former hunting lodge acquired in 1882 by Jules Marmottan, lawyer, politician and art collector. It was his son Paul, an art historian who was also a collector, who bequeathed the family collection and the pavilion, transformed into a private mansion, when he died (1934). The Marmottan museum was born.

Over time the museum will receive many, and exceptional, donations like that of doctor Georges de Bellio, doctor and friend of many impressionists, or of Michel Monet, son of the painter, who bequeathed more than 80 works in addition to the property of Giverny. Marmottan became Marmottan-Monet.

Pissarro, Renoir, Gauguin, Sisley, Degas

Pissarro, Renoir, Gauguin, Sisley, Degas… So many prestigious names that you will find exhibited, as well as a rich collection of Berthe Morisot, rare woman of the Impressionist movement, better known for the avant-garde of her art than for her diversity .

As for Monet, you can admire her in rooms exclusively dedicated to her. A remarkable collection of more than 100 works which will allow you to perceive the evolution of the painter, and some of his masterpieces like the Nymphéas (series of tables which draws its inspiration from the garden of Giverny, also visible on the ‘Orangerie), or Impression, Rising Sun.

In addition to Impressionism, the museum devotes a few rooms (upper floor) to paintings by primitive German, Flemish and Italian artists, a collection brought together by Jules Marmottan, to the art of illumination from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance, and organizes one or two temporary exhibitions per year.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Useful Informations

Musée Marmottan-Monet
2, rue Louis-Boilly 75016 Paris

Open from thursday to sunday : 10 am - 6 pm / Tuesday until 8 pm - Closed on Mondays, January 1st, May 1st, and December 25th

Métro : Ranelagh (L 9)

Full rate : 10€

(Français) Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook

Essential exhibitions

Musées Musées et Monuments

Musée Marmottan-Monet

Des grands musées impressionnistes parisiens (Musée d’Orsay, l’Orangerie), le musée Marmottan-Monet est peut-être le moins connu. Sa collection n’a pourtant rien à envier à celle de ses illustres acolytes, même si Orsay reste la référence mondiale en la matière.

En effet, c’est bien au Musée Marmottan-Monet que vous trouverez, entre autres merveilles, la plus grande collection au monde d’œuvres de Claude Monet.

Un collection exceptionnel au coeur du 16e arrondissement

Situé dans le luxueux quartier du Ranelagh (nord du 16ème arrondissement), le Musée est un ancien pavillon de chasse acquis en 1882 par Jules Marmottan, avocat, homme politique et collectionneur d’art. C’est son fils Paul, historien d’art lui aussi collectionneur, qui légua à sa mort (1934) la collection familiale et le pavillon, transformé en hôtel particulier. Le musée Marmottan était né.

Au fil du temps le musée recevra de nombreuses, et exceptionnelles, donations comme celle du docteur Georges de Bellio, médecin et ami de nombreux impressionnistes, ou de Michel Monet, fils du peintre, qui légua plus de 80 œuvres en plus de la propriété de Giverny. Marmottan devînt Marmottan-Monet.

Pissarro, Renoir, Gauguin, Sisley, Degas… Autant de noms prestigieux que vous retrouverez exposés, ainsi qu’une riche collection de Berthe Morisot, rare femme du mouvement impressionniste, plus connu pour l’avant-gardisme de son art que de sa mixité.

Quant à Monet, vous pourrez l’admirer dans des salles qui lui sont exclusivement dédiées. Une collection remarquable de plus de 100 œuvres qui vous permettra de percevoir l’évolution du peintre, et quelques-uns de ses chefs-d’oeuvres comme les Nymphéas (série de tableaux qui tire son inspiration du jardin de Giverny, également visible à l’Orangerie), ou Impression, Soleil levant.

Outre l’impressionnisme, le musée consacre quelques salles (étage supérieur) aux peintures des primitifs allemands, flamands et italiens, collection réunie par Jules Marmottan, à l’art de l’enluminure du Moyen Age à la Renaissance, et organise une à deux expositions temporaires par an.

 

À quelques pas du musée, visitez ensuite le Jardin du Ranelagh, où a eu lieu au 18e siècle le premier vol en Montgolfière de l’histoire. Découvrez également 5 raisons de visiter le 16e arrondissement

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Infos Utiles

Musée Marmottan-Monet
2, rue Louis-Boilly 75016 Paris

ouvert du mardi au dimanche 
de 10 h à 18 heures
nocturne les jeudis jusqu'à 20 heures - fermé le lundi, le 1er mai, le 25 décembre, et le 1er janvier.

Métro : Ranelagh (L 9)

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook

Expos du moment