Cité des Fleurs (City of flowers)

At the heart of the popular part of the 17th arrondissement ( district of Batignolles and Spruce ), and wedged between the teeming avenue de Clichy avenue de Saint -Ouen, lies an island of unexpected nature : City of Flowers .

230 meters long, where trafic is not allowed and isolated from the city’s agitation, the City of flowers is a part of these old Parisian streets that remain the same from those dats and are pleasant to stroll down in the quest of beautiful sceneries.

Note: The district takes its name from spruce a hamlet which depended before its annexation to Paris in 1860 in the town of Batignolles- Monceau and whose lands were planted with white spruce near the grape pinot current white.

 

Founded in 1847 by two owners who decided to divide their land in the same batch , the City of Flowers is more than a century and a half after its inception as an unexpected place , insulated and lined with greenery . It is also by its façade a single witness of Parisian architecture in the 19th century.

Right from the beginning of its establishment, the subdivision was indeed governed by a draconian agreement which set out the details. Floor , lighting, foundation heights and partition walls , many Building floors, ornamented fences … All these elements were strictly regulated. It was compulsory for example to plant 3 flowery trees in every garden and have a Medici vase on a stone pillar !

The statutes still in force today, which have undoubtedly helped to preserve the City of Flowers irreversible transformations.

Architecturally speaking, rises from the n°29, one of the most interesting buildings of this site still preserved. Behind the garden, one has a beautiful foundation in stone from the neo-renaissance style. A plaque located at n°25 also reminds that this is where the headquarters for the fake papers services was located, the NLM ( National Liberation Movement) of which all the members were shot by the gestapo in 1944.

 

The City of Flowers is a private road : open to the public from Monday to Saturday from 7 am to 19 pm access and Sundays and holidays from 7 am to 13 pm

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

More than traditional guided tours, Our walking tours will make you discover both the past and the present of Paris ...
Read More

La Cité des Fleurs

Au cœur de la partie populaire du 17e arrondissement (quartiers des Épinettes et Batignolles), et coincé entre les grouillantes avenue de Clichy et avenue de Saint-Ouen, se cache un ilot de nature inattendu : la Cité des Fleurs.

Longue de 230 mètres, interdite à la circulation et isolée de l’agitation de la ville, la Cité des Fleurs fait partie de ces anciennes rues de Paris préservées du temps qui ravissent le promeneur en quête de paysages singuliers.

 

Note : Le quartier des épinettes tire son nom d’un ancien hameau qui dépendait avant son annexion à Paris en 1860 à la commune de Batignolles-Monceau, et dont les terrains étaient plantés d’épinettes blanches, cépage proche du pinot blanc actuel.

Crédit : voyageursaparistome17
Crédit : voyageursaparistome17

Créée en 1847 par deux propriétaires qui décidèrent de diviser leur terrain en lots identiques, la Cité des Fleurs apparaît plus d’un siècle et demi après sa création comme un lieu insoupçonné, isolé et garni de nature verdoyante. Elle est également de par ses façades un témoin unique de l’architecture parisienne au 19e siècle.  

 

Dés l’origine de sa création, le lotissement fut en effet régi par une convention draconienne qui en fixait les moindres détails. Chaussée, éclairage, hauteur des façades et des murs mitoyens, nombre d’étages constructibles, ornementations des clôtures… Tous ces éléments étaient strictement réglementés. Il était par exemple obligatoire de planter au minimum 3 arbres à fleurs dans chaque jardin et de disposer d’un vase Médicis sur un pilastre en pierre de taille !

Des statuts toujours en vigueur aujourd’hui, qui ont sans aucun doute contribué à préserver la Cité des Fleurs de transformations irréversibles.

Côté architecture s’élève au n°29 l’un des plus intéressants bâtiments de ce site préservé. En retrait d’un jardinet se dresse en effet une magnifique façade en pierre de style néo-renaissance. Une plaque située au°25 rappelle aussi qu’ici siégea le service de faux papier du MLN (Mouvement de Libération Nationale), dont tous les membres furent fusillés par la gestapo en 1944.

 

La Cité des Fleurs est une voie privée : accès ouvert au public uniquement du lundi au samedi de 7 h à 19 h et les dimanches et jours fériés de 7 h à 13 h 

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.