Petite ceinture du 15e

Garden “la Petite Ceinture du 15e”

Built during the Second Empire (1852-1869), the « Petite Ceinture » line (« little ring road ») is an ancient 32km long railroad around Paris. Devoted to passenger and freight transportation, it had been gradually abandoned with the advent of the Paris metro (created in 1900) only used then for haulage before being permanently left in the late 90’s.

Since , the « Petite Ceinture » looks like an open-air wasteland, offering to some parts of the capital unusual landscapes. Generally closed to the public, certain parts of this old railway are now converted into public garden, as the path can find in the 15th arrondissement.

A few steps from the beautiful Parc Georges Brassens, the railway in the 15th arrondissement has become a green space freely accessible to the public. If the walk is today only one kilometer long, works are in progress to extend it as far as the André Citroën park. A very pleasant green itinerary  between two of the greatest gardens of south Paris!

Abandoned for several decades, the Petite Ceinture » paths are nowadays unique urban places of nature and biodiversity. Indeed, since the cessation of human activity, routes have been taken over by plentiful wild nature (edge, slope, afforestation), also favoring fauna’s reproduction.

Surrounded by the landscape of the city but maintained its ongoing tumult, this green space in the 15th arrondissement offers an only moment where nature prevails. A rare opportunity in Paris…

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Jardins 15ème Arrondissement Parcs & Jardins

Jardin la Petite Ceinture du 15e

Petite ceinture du 15e

Construite sous le Second Empire (1852-1869), la Petite Ceinture est une ancienne voie de chemin de fer de 32 kilomètres qui faisait le tour de Paris. Dédiée au trafic de voyageurs et de marchandises, elle fut petit à petit abandonnée avec l’avènement du métro parisien (créé en 1900), puis consacrée uniquement au transport de marchandises avant d’être définitivement délaissée dans les années 70

Depuis lors, la Petite Ceinture a des airs de friche à ciel ouvert, offrant dans certains endroits de la capitale des paysages insolites. De manière générale interdites au public, certaines parties ont été aménagées en jardin public, comme celle que vous pourrez découvrir dans le 15e arrondissement. (Boulevard Victor, Boulevard Lefebvre)

Abandonnés depuis plusieurs décennies, les sentiers de la Petite Ceinture sont aujourd’hui des lieux uniques de nature et de biodiversité urbaine. En effet, depuis l’arrêt de l’activité humaine, les voies ont été colonisées par une nature abondante (lisière, talus, boisement), favorisant également la reproduction de faune.

Entourés du paysage de la ville mais totalement préservé de son bruit, cet espace vert du 15e arrondissement vous propose un moment original dominé par une nature sauvage.

Un joli lieu secret de Paris.

 

Peut se découvrir pendant une balade entre le Parc Georges Brassens et le Parc André Citroën.

 

Infos Utiles

Petite ceinture du 15e
Accès en face du 106 rue Olivier de Serres

Ouverture 9h en semaine, 9h30 le week-end
Fermeture entre 16h45 et 20h30 selon la saison

Métro : Porte de Versailles (L 12) Tramway : Porte de Versailles ou Georges Brassens (T3a)

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook

Et Instagram