sentier nature

10 secret and intimate places

As we often mention here, the beauty of Paris and its uniqueness lies in the extraordinary diversity of places you can visit. Once admired the Eiffel Tower or lived a charming Parisian walk along the Seine’s banks, Paris also offers some surprising and secrets places. A real way to discover another Paris.

Jardin AlpiN – ALPINE GARDEn

lieux secrets paris

Formerly “garden of mountains plants”, the Alpine Garden, nestled in the heart of the magnificent Jardin des Plantes, is the opportunity of an original nature walk in the heart of Paris. A space of discovery and  preservation over 4000 m2.

Open April 1 to October 31

La Chapelle Expiatoire

lieu secret paris

Far from Paris’s landmarks, the “Expiatory Chapel” shows one of the darker sides of Paris : the French Revolution and the Terror. Raised in then exact place where Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette had been buried, it is one of the most secret monuments of the capital.

La Petite Ceinture

sentier nature

Old railway built around Paris in the mid 19th century, The Petite Ceinture (Little Belt Railway) is today turned into garden nice and hidden gardens. Walk in the wild flora in the “nature trails” of the 16th arrondissement, or walk in the middle of the 15th. Another way to see Paris.

Hôtel Dieu

ile de la cité

Oldest hospital in Paris, the Hotel Dieu was repeatedly rebuilt since its founding in 651. Medieval symbol of charity and hospitality, architectural masterpiece ordered by Baron Haussmann in the heart of the Ile de la Cité, it is today a nice break while strolling in the center of Paris

Jardin du Panthéon Bouddhique

paris

In the 16th district, the Pantheon’s Buddhist Japanese Garden is undoubtedly the most Zen area in Paris. A hidden area of ​​450 m2 where giant bamboo stand alongside a pretty small pond garden. And a chance to see the 200 works displayed in the mansion, compiled by Émile Guimet during his trip to Japan in 1876.

Maison Deyrolle

paris

In the district of Sèvres-Babylone, the very old Maison Deyrolle is both a cabinet of curiosity, a museum of Taxidermy and a mecca for collectors. The first floor, displaying an extraordinary collection of animals, is a place that fascinates by its aesthetics and the richness of these objects. Not to be missed.

L’Institut du Monde Arabe

terrasse-ima

The Arab World Institute is not in itself a secret place in Paris. What it is more is its terrace on the top floor with one of the best views of Paris. An original view of the Marais and Notre-Dame-de-Paris, and a real alternative to the popular Montmartre.

Les Passages Couverts

Noël Le Boyer

Symbol of the architecture of the capital in the early 19th century, and places where the typical “Parisian stroll” had been invented, the Covered Passages are architectural jewels. If 24 of them are left nowadays (there were 137 in 1828), some passages are still unknown. To discover during this walking tour in the covered passages.

Collège des Bernardins

quartier latin

In the Latin Quarter, the College of Bernardine is one of the oldest medieval buildings in Paris. Created in the 13th century to train monks and compete with the University of Paris, it is still a place for debate and knowledge. And one of the most secret Paris’ monuments.

Cimetière Saint-Vincent

paris insolite

Far from the famous Père Lachaise or Montparnasse Cemetery, St. Vincent Cemetery, nestled on the northern slopes of Montmartre, is a confidential place. Home to famous people as Marcel Ayme, Marcel Carné or Maurice Utrillo, it offers a peaceful moment of calm in the heart of Montmartre.

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

sentier nature

10 endroits secrets à Paris

Comme nous le mentionnons souvent ici, la beauté de Paris et son caractère unique résident dans la diversité extraordinaire de lieux que l’on peut visiter. Une fois admirée la Tour Eiffel ou vécu le charme typiquement parisien des quais de Seine, Paris offre quelques endroits secrets aussi confidentiels que surprenants. Des lieux qui invitent parfois à la méditation, d’autres fois à la quiétude, et sont un véritable moyen de découvrir un autre Paris.

Jardin Alpin

visite secrete paris

Autrefois « jardin des plantes de montagnes », le Jardin Alpin, niché au coeur du somptueux jardin des Plantes, est l’occasion d’une promenade naturelle originale en plein coeur de Paris. Un espace de découverte et de préservation unique à Paris sur près de 4000 m2.

Ouvert du 1er avril au 31 octobre

La Chapelle Expiatoire

lieu secret paris

Loin des monuments phares parisiens, la chapelle Expiatoire permet d’explorer l’une des facettes les plus sombres de Paris : la Révolution française et la Terreur. Élevé à l’endroit même ou furent enterrés Louis XVI et Marie-Antoinette, c’est l’un des monuments les plus secrets de la capitale.

La Petite Ceinture

sentier nature

Ancienne voie de chemin de fer construite autour de Paris au milieu du 19e siècle, la Petite Ceinture de Paris est aujourd’hui petit à petit réhabilitée en jardin aux quatre coins de Paris. Promenade dans une flore sauvage dans les « sentiers nature » du 16e arrondissement, ou balade familiale et intime dans la Petite Ceinture du 15e, une autre manière de voir Paris.

Hôtel Dieu

hopital

Plus viel hôpital de la capitale, l’Hôtel Dieu a été maintes fois reconstruit depuis sa fondation en 651. Symbole médiéval de charité et d’hospitalité, oeuvre architecturale commandée par le baron Haussmann au coeur de l’île de la Cité, c’est aujourd’hui l’occasion d’une halte secrète lors de vos balades dans le centre de Paris. 

Jardin du Panthéon Bouddhique

paris

Dans le 16e arrondissement, le Jardin Japonais du Panthéon Bouddhique est sans aucun doute l’espace le plus zen de Paris. Un jardin caché d’une superficie de 450 m2 où des bambous géants côtoient une jolie petite pièce d’eau. L’occasion également de faire le tour des 200 oeuvres exposées dans l’hôtel particulier du Panthéon Bouddhique, réunies par Émile Guimet au cours de son voyage au Japon en 1876.

visites guidées unjourdeplusaparis

Maison Deyrolle

maison deyrolle

Dans le quartier de Sèvres-Babylone, la très ancienne Maison Deyrolle est à la fois un cabinet de curiosités, un musée de la Taxidermie et une Mecque pour les collectionneurs. Le premier étage, exposant une extraordinaire collection d’animaux , est un lieu qui fascine autant par son esthétique que par la richesse de ces objets. À ne pas louper.

L’Institut du Monde Arabe

paris

L’Institut du Monde Arabe n’est pas en soi un lieu secret de Paris. Ce qui l’est plus est sa terrasse située au dernier étage et offrant l’une des plus belles vues sur Paris. Un panorama original sur le Marais et la Cathédrale Notre-Dame-de-Paris, et une véritable alternative au très populaire parvis de Montmartre.

Les Passages Couverts

Noël Le Boyer

Symbole de l’architecture de la capitale au début du 19e siècle, et lieux dans lesquels la typique « flânerie  parisienne » a été inventée, les passages couverts sont de véritables joyaux architecturaux. Aujourd’hui au nombre de 24 (il en existait 137 en 1828), certains passages restent encore méconnus. À découvrir lors de cette balade à travers les passages couverts.

Collège des Bernardins

quartier latin

Dans le quartier Latin, le Collège des Bernardins est l’un des plus vieux bâtiments médiévaux de Paris. Créé au 13e siècle pour former des moines et concurrencer l’Université de Paris, c’est aujourd’hui encore un lieu de réflexion,  de débats et de savoir. Et l’un des monuments les plus secrets de Paris.

Cimetière Saint-Vincent

paris insolite

Très loin de la renommée du Père-Lachaise ou du cimetière de Montparnasse, le Cimetière Saint-Vincent, niché sur le flanc nord de la butte Montmartre, est un lieu confidentiel et préservé. Abritant certaines personnalités comme Marcel Aymé, Marcel Carné ou Maurice Utrillo, il propose un moment de recueil dans le calme, accompagné par un joli point de vue sur la basilique du Sacré-Coeur.

 

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.