Walk “Fashion and Luxury”

THE WALK 

Paris reputation as a world capital of fashion is firmly established. Essential step of fashion shows, the city also houses all of the greatest French and international haute couture, ready-to-wear and jewelery headquarters.

This route will take you to a world of elegance and refinement, going past the poshest districts of the capital.

A display of luxury and wealth that will not leave you cold !

 

See also : Best places to shop in Paris

 

guided tours unjourdeplusaparis

THE ITINERARY 

  • Walk starts Alma-Marceau metro station (line 9). Take Avenue Montaigne. Lined with luxury shops that attract a wealthy clientele, it makes up with avenue George V and les Champs-Élysées the « Golden triangle » of shopping. Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Nina Ricci, Chanel … no big brand is missing!
Boutique Chanel Avenue Montaigne Paris

 

  • Do not miss at the beginning of the avenue le Theatre des Champs-Elysees, the frescoes of which have been made by Antoine Bourdelle. You will also see at no. 25 the Plaza Athénée, that welcomes since its inception in 1911, heads of states, princes and foreign ambassadors.

 

  • At the end of the avenue you reach the Rond Point des Champs-Élysées, providing a beautiful view of “the most beautiful avenue in the world” … At No. 7, the Mansion built in 1844 is now a prestigious auction market (Artcurial).
avenue numéros impairs

 

  • Continue ahead Avenue Matignon. You will pass by the famous auction market Christie’s (n° 9), and many galleries of modern and contemporary paintings. At n° 25, have a glance at a beautiful mansion, the Hotel de la Vaupalière. Built in the 18th century, it has kept its lovely garden even if the front was rebuilt in the 19th. On the other side is an amazing building that breaks the rules of this very classical street (No. 22), built in 1976 by the architect Vittorio Mazzuconi.
Immeuble Vittorio Mazzuconi

 

  • Getting to rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore, another Parisian street almost entirely dedicated to luxury shopping, turn right. It is also an important political area where you will see the Ministry of Interior (place Beauveau), the British Embassy (No. 35) as well as the Palais de l’Élysée (No.55), residence of the President of French Republic.
    •  Among the major fashion brands are Pierre Cardin, Sonia Rykiel, Calvin Klein, Yves Saint Laurent, Hermes, Lanvin, Christian Lacroix …
façade du palais de l'Élysée Paris

 

  • Rue Boissy d’Anglas, turn left and go to No. 24. Enter the very charming Village Royal (also called cité Berryer). This small passageway, created in 1725, has the air of a village, even if you still find brands like Dior ! To enjoy the atmosphere, you can sit at the terrace of the village.
Cité Berryer

 

 

  • Have a look of Place de la Madeleine. Admire the beautiful windows of old shops as Fauchon and Hediard. At No. 9, you can also see a covered passage : Galerie de la Madeleine.

 

  • Take Rue Royale, then turn left onto rue Saint-Honore. Rue Saint-Honore, in addition to be a fashion street, is the most important area of Jewelery in Paris.
Joaillier rue Saint-Honoré

 

  • Go straight ahead to rue de Castiglione, then head to Place Vendome. What better place to end a “fashion and luxury” walk than the Place Vendome, greatest symbol of refinement in Paris ! 
rue Castiglione et place Vendôme

 

 

End of the walk

visites des quartiers de paris

Guided Tours

Un Jour de Plus à Paris also organizes guided tours. Walks that will introduce you to an original and out of the ordinary Paris. All the information about our visits.

Balade “Mode et Luxe”

La réputation de Paris en terme de mode n’est plus à faire. Étape incontournable des défilés de haute couture, la ville concentre aussi les plus grandes maisons françaises et internationales de prêt-à-porter, joaillerie et bijouteries.

Cette balade vous plongera dans un monde d’élégance et de raffinement, en passant par les quartiers les plus huppés de la capitale : le Triangle d’Or, Saint-Honoré, madeleine et Place Vendôme. Un étalage de luxe et de richesse qui laisse difficilement la tête froide, mais qui participe incontestablement au prestige de Paris à travers le monde. Et qui mérite donc d’être découvert !

L’ITINÉRAIRE

  • Départ de la balade métro Alma-Marceau (ligne 9). Prenez l’avenue Montaigne. Faisant partie avec l’avenue Georges-V et les Champs-Élysées du « Triangle d’Or » parisien, l’avenue Montaigne est bordée de boutiques de luxe qui attirent une clientèle fortunée. Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Nina Ricci, Chanel… aucun grand nom ne manque à l’appel !
Boutique Chanel Avenue Montaigne Paris
 
 
  • Ne loupez pas non plus, au début de l’avenue, le théâtre des Champs-Élysées, dont les fresques de la façade ont été réalisées par Antoine Bourdelle. Vous croiserez également au n° 25 le Plaza Athénée, qui accueille depuis sa création en 1911 chefs d’état, princes et ambassadeurs étrangers. 

avenue montaigne 

Au bout de l’avenue vous arrivez sur le rond Pont des Champs-Élysées, offrant une belle perspective sur « la plus belle avenue du monde »…  Au n°7, l’Hôtel Particulier construit en 1844 est aujourd’hui un espace dédié à l’art (Artcurial).

 
  • Continuer avenue Matignon. Vous croiserez au n°9 la célèbre maison de vente aux enchère britannique Christie’s, mais aussi de nombreuses galeries de peintures modernes et contemporaines. Au n°25, remarquez un bel hôtel particulier, l’Hôtel de la Vaupalière. Construit au 18e siècle, il a conservé son joli jardin d’époque même si la façade a été remaniée au cours du 19e. De l’autre côté se trouve un immeuble étonnant qui casse les codes de ce quartier très classique (n°22), construit en 1976 par l’architecte Vittorio Mazzuconi.
Immeuble Vittorio Mazzuconi
 
 
  • Arrivé rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, autre rue parisienne quasiment entièrement dédiée au shopping de luxe, tournez à droite. C’est aussi un haut lieu de pouvoir politique puisqu’y sont situés le Ministère de l’Intérieur (place Beauveau ), l’ambassade Britannique (n° 35) ainsi que le Palais de l’Élysée (n°55), résidence du Président de la République Française.
    •  Parmi les grandes marques de mode, vous croiserez Pierre Cardin, Sonia Rykiel, Calvin Klein, Yves-Saint-Laurent, Hermès, Lanvin, Christian Lacroix…
façade du palais de l'Élysée Paris
 
 
  • Rue Boissy d’Anglas, tournez à gauche et rendez-vous au n°24 de la rue. Pénétrez le très charmant Village Royal (appelé aussi cité Berryer). Cette petite voie, créée en 1725, est un véritable refuge aux allures de village, même si vous y retrouverez encore de grandes enseignes comme Dior ! Pour profiter pleinement de l’atmosphère des lieux, vous pouvez profiter de l’une des terrasses du village.

village royale cite berryer

 

affiche de mobilisation générale paris

  • Prenez ensuite la rue Saint-Honoré. Si vous continuerez à croiser de nombreux magasins de mode, vous remarquerez aussi qu’ici les joailliers sont à l’honneur.
Joaillier rue Saint-Honoré

 

  • Continuez tout droit jusqu’à la Place Vendôme. Et quel meilleur endroit pour terminer une balade « mode et luxe » à Paris que la Place Vendôme, plus grand symbole du luxe et du raffinements parisiens connu dans le monde entier !
rue Castiglione et place Vendôme

 

Fin de la balade

visites des quartiers de paris

Nos Visites Guidées

Découvrez Paris autrement avec nos visites guidées – privées ou en groupe – des quartiers de Paris.